Research Guides: Laupus Library Orientation: Library Databases

Outcomes

1) Students will be able to construct a search in a library database.

2) Students will be able to locate the full test of articles in a library database.

Before leaving this page you should:

Click through the tutorials about searching for articles in CINAHL, PsychINFO, and PubMed (~15 minutes)
Use the CINAHL Guide on the Side tutorial to practice searching for research articles in CINAHL (~10 minutes)
Use the PsycINFO Guide on the Side tutorial to practice searching for resarch articles in PsycINFO (~10 minutes)
Use the PubMed Guide on the Side tutorial to practice searching for research articles in PubMed (~10 minutes)
Click through the "How to Read a Research Article in Health Sciences" tutorial (~3 minutes)

MEDLINE via PubMed This link opens in a new window
This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.
This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.
CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.