Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Find Articles

Locating Journal Articles

You can find an article by searching in a database. A database is a searchable collection of information. Examples of everyday databases include Amazon.com, iTunes, and the Internet Movie Database. A library database contains newspapers, magazines, scholarly journal articles, trade journals, and sometimes book chapters.

All databases are different, yet they share some commonalities:

You can search for peer reviewed, or scholarly, articles by keyword.
You can find full text articles, either attached to the record, or by pressing the Find It! Button
You can limit by date.
Many of them allow you to email and cite sources using the database options.

We have linked some databases you may need for research in Ethnic Studies to the right. There are many listed here because the study of Ethnic Studies is multidisciplinary and crosses many different fields. For help, Ask a Librarian!

Link to the Databases

Ethnic Studies Databases

The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of Ethnic Studies.

Other Databases for Ethnic Studies

Click on the i button to read more about the database.

Population Index on the Web
From Princeton University, the primary reference tool to the world's population literature.
more...less...
It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window An extensive index of bibliographic information for sociology research. Provides records from leading sociology journals. Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) Online This link opens in a new window Provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, social issues, and the arts and humanities. Content spans: Late 1960s - Current.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window An annotated bibliography on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Years of Coverage: 1936 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An extensive archive of American and international scholarly journals and books in the humanities, sciences, philosophy, and social sciences.  Provides downloadable PDFs. Content spans 1800 – 2 years ago.

Recommended Journals

Here are some recommended journals for the Ethnic Studies field.

Journals

InterLibrary Loan

Use InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery services to request articles, books, media, and more from other libraries when ECU libraries do not have what you need.

E-Journal/E-Book Portal

Search Joyner Library's collection of online materials.

Ethnic Studies: Find Articles

Finding Articles