Research Guides: Recreational Therapy: Evidence-Based Interventions

Additional Information on Evidence Based Practice

Useful Readings

Evidence Based Medicine: What it is and What it isn't

Sackett, D., Rosenberg, W., Gray, J., Haynes, R., & Richardson, W. (1996). Evidence Based Medicine: What It Is And What It Isn't: It's About Integrating Individual Clinical Expertise And The Best External Evidence. BMJ: British Medical Journal, 312(7023), 71-72. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/29730277

Tools for Implementing an Evidence-Based Approach in Public Health Practice

Jacobs JA, Jones E, Gabella BA, Spring B, Brownson RC. Tools for Implementing an Evidence-Based Approach in Public Health Practice. Prev Chronic Dis 2012;9:110324. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.5888/pcd9.110324

Evidence Pyramid

This is often referred to as the "Evidence Pyramid". It is used to illustrate the evolution of the literature.

Evidence-Based Practice Help Sheets

EBP Limits
This handout will provide instructions for applying limits to searches run in MEDLINE via PubMed, MEDLINE via Ovid, CINAHL, and PsycInfo

Free Online Resources

AHRQ Evidence Reviews (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)
EPC Reports offer comprehensive, science-based information on common costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. Your search results cover complete titles of released evidence reports, comparative effectiveness reviews, technical briefs, Technology Assessment Program reports, and U.S. Preventive Services Task Force evidence syntheses.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination Database
CRD is a world renowned institute that produces policy relevant research and innovative methods that advance the use of research evidence to improve population health.
The Community Guide
a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.
Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews (DoPHER)
DoPHER is unique in its focussed coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.
This register currently contains details of over 3,700 reviews of health promotion and public health effectiveness.
Healthy People 2030
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
Health and Medicine Division
The Health and Medicine Division (HMD) is a division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (the National Academies). The National Academies are private, nonprofit institutions that provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine. The Academies operate under an 1863 congressional charter to the National Academy of Sciences, signed by President Lincoln.
Evidence-Based Cancer Control Programs (EBCCP)- formerly RTIPS
EBCCP is a searchable database of evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials and is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners easy and immediate access to research-tested materials
SAMHSA National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices
SAMHSA’s (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) promotes the adoption of scientifically established behavioral health interventions.
Compendium of Evidence-Based Interventions and Best Practices for HIV Prevention
The Compendium is a composition or collection of HIV interventions in the form of info sheets. Info sheets are categorized by Evidence-Based Interventions (EBIs) or Evidence-Informed Interventions (EIs).
MCH Innovations Database
MCH Innovations Database is a searchable repository of “what’s working” in MCH (aka practice-based evidence) which includes effective practices and policies from the field that are positively impacting MCH populations.
MCH Evidence
The database aggregates sample evidence-based/informed ("evidence-linked") strategies that can be used as-is or adapted to develop Evidence-based or informed Strategy Measures (ESMs) for each of the MCH National Performance Measures (NPMs).
Federal Understanding of the Evidence Base
Multiple federal agencies have put together registries that list evidence-based programs as a way to disseminate information about programs and their level of effectiveness. Registries list programs and categorize them, similar to a consumer guide. This process allows users to identify programs that best meet their needs and have a body of research behind them.