Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections for ENGL 1200: Special Collections Holdings

This guide is intended to assist ENGL 1200 students in their completion of their ENGL 1200 artifact assignment.

What you can find

There are a diverse array of subjects that can be researched in Joyner's Special Collections in a wide variety of formats.  The table below outlines they types of materials typical for each of the sub-collections and how patrons may interact with them:

Manuscripts and Rare Books

  • Manuscripts
  • Rare Books
  • Maps
  • Broadsides
  • Oral Histories
  • Closed Stacks (items must be requested via Aeon)
  • None is intended for check-out and must be used in the reading room (4th floor)

North Carolina Collection

  • Rare and not so rare books (rare books should be requested via Aeon)
  • Periodicals
  • Microfilm
  • Maps
  • Broadsides
  • Open stacks
  • Much is available for check-out

University Archives

  • University Records
  • Artifacts
  • Oral Histories
  • University publications
  • Papers of professors
  • Closed Stacks (items must be requested via Aeon)
  • None is intended for check-out and must be used in the reading room (4th floor)

Digital Collections

  • Contains digitized versions of Special Collections holdings
  • Available any time and any place
  • Copies are often downloadable
  • Physical copies can be viewed in either the 4th floor or 3rd floor (North Carolina Collection) reading rooms