Research Guides: CHEM 2251: Quantitative and Instrumental Analysis: Handbooks

Standard Handbooks Available in Print

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Joyner Ref QD 65 H3

Merck Index
Joyner Ref Desk RS 51 .M4

Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Joyner Ref QD 246 .D5

Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
Joyner Ref QD148 .D53

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Joyner Ref QD 65 .L36

Handbooks Available Online

Knovel
Provides reference data from major scientific and technical publications, along with analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data. Subject areas include biochemistry, chemistry, biotechnology, engineering, and pharmaceuticals.
AccessEngineering
McGraw-Hill's AccessingEngineering is available to the ECU community. Contains handbooks for many areas of chemistry and related areas. Limited to 1 user at a time.
ChemSynthesis
A freely accessible database of chemicals. Contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density.
ChemIDPlus
A master chemical dictionary of substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. Searchable by chemical name, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number, molecular formula, classification code, locator code, and structure.
NIST Chemistry Webbook and IUPAC International Chemical Identifier
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides convenient access to a variety of physical and chemical property data on well defined chemical species and reactions. The IUPAC International Chemical Identifier (InChI) was developed to provide a modern tool for the identification of chemical species.
more...less...
Because IUPAC InChI is derived via software from the structure of a molecular species, it is not dependent on third party registries or arcane nomenclature rules. These two efforts are complementary: the WebBook tests and publicizes the technology behind InChI. InChI development work provides tools that help integrate the databases in the WebBook.
ChemBioFinder
Search for information, including physical property data, on chemical compounds. Search by chemical name, CAS registry number, molecular weight, structure, etc. Includes links to more information about chemical compounds.
CAS Standard Abbreviations and Acronyms
Published by Chemical Abstracts Service. Use to quickly look up abbreviations and acronyms used by the CAS and their publications.
Abbreviations of Chemical Compounds
English and German. A quick and easy way to look up a compound name from its abbreviation.

Useful Websites

Mobile Apps

EMD PTE
Periodic table of elements including properties and visualization tools. Free for iphone or ipad
SciFinder Mobile
Mobile version of SciFinder for smartphones