Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Musical Theater Resources
Research Musical Theatre Topics
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA) This link opens in a new window
Provides blend of abstracts, indexing and full-text articles. Content covers a broad spectrum of arts and entertainment industry. Topics include: dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry and magic. Content spans 1864 – present, mostly from 1998 – present.
Oxford Bibliographies - Music This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies is a great tool to find sources to use for your paper. It is a database of annotated bibliographies by subject. There is one annotated bibliography entry for the Musical.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
A huge database with encyclopedia entries for topics related to theatre and dance. Includes two broad articles for "The Musical" and "Musical Theater"
Printed Music, Audio, Video
Musical theatre materials are housed in the Music Library in Fletcher Music Center.
Browse Library Holdings
Printed music, audio, and video of musicals, plus books about musicals, available at ECU libraries.
Find Specific Musicals
Find specific musicals using keywords and selecting the content type you need, such as Music Score, Audio Recording, or Video Recording.