Research Guides: PADM 6123: Economic Development: Labor Force, Employment, Income and Earnings

Labor, Employment, Income & Earnings

North Carolina Resources

Employment Security Commission of North Carolina: Labor Market Information
Workforce demographic data, including employment and wages, available by geographic area or by industry.
North Carolina County Profiles
Basic demographic and economic data, provided by the state Department of Commerce.
NC Department of Commerce: Economic Development Reports
Monthly economic summaries and other reports and publications.
NC Department of Commerce: Workforce Development Reports
Annual reports summarizing North Carolina's workforce development efforts as well as "State of the NC Workforce" reports projecting future economic developments.
NC Office of State Budget and Management: State Data Center
Compiles NC statistical data from a variety of state agencies.
Log Into North Carolina (LINC)
Database containing NC population and demographic data from the 1960s to present, from statewide, county and municipal level down to census tract. Click on the "start LINC now" button. Beside the entry (middle left) "Preformatted Report" click on "Get a county or state report." The default is "Multiple Topic Profile"; Choose North Carolina or a county, then click Go. Select multiple years (the most recent 5) to get coverage

Older Years:

Annual Summary of Employment and Wages of Workers Covered by Employment Security Law of North Carolina.
Raleigh, N.C. : Employment Security Commission of North Carolina, Bureau of Research and Statistics. Extensive coverage from 1967-1983 available in the reference area of the North Carolina Collection (JNCRE-- HD 5725 N8 A3).

Civilian Labor Force Estimates for North Carolina. Raleigh, N.C.: Labor Market Information Division, Employment Security Commission, 1960-1999. Available in the reference area of the North Carolina Collection (JNCRE-- HD 5725 N8 N64a; additional issues available in microform).

Employment and Wages in North Carolina. Raleigh, N.C.: Labor Market Information Division, Employment Security Commission of North Carolina. 1984-1999 available in the reference area of the North Carolina Collection (JNCRE-- HD 5725 N8 A3; additional issues available in microform).

Federal Resources

Regional Economic Accounts
Bureau of Economic Analysis site provides GDP and personal income data for states and metropolitan areas.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Comprehensive portal site provides access to the most recent Economic Census and Economic Indicators as well as economic data by economic sector, geographic area or by product.
Census Bureau: Business & Industry
Census Bureau: Business & Industry
Comprehensive portal site provides access to the most recent Economic Census and Economic Indicators as well as economic data by economic sector, geographic area or by product.
Census Bureau: County Business Patterns
Annual statistical overview of private sector economic activity, with data organized by county, zip code and Metropolitan Statistical Area.
American Factfinder: Economic Census and Surveys:
Retrieve data from 1997, 2002 and 2007. Includes "Quick Reports" by industry or geography and key economy-wide statistics by georgraphic area.

Economic Census: Available from the main Census website: