History

An index of bibliographic citations to literature on the full history of the United States and Canada. Some citations include links to full-text. Content spans 1964 – Present.

A collection of newspapers, bulletins, magazines and other serials published from the colonial period through Reconstruction. Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1 (1693-1820), Series 2 (1821-1837), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865), and Series 5 (1866-1877).

A searchable collection of primary source material pertaining to the American Civil War. Includes rosters published by the state Adjutants Generals, the Official Records, pension index records, 1860 census records, Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) records, Roll of Honor records, Medal of Honor records, and regimental histories. Information has been compiled from personal items, graveyards, and newspaper reports. Also contains photographs.

A searchable collection of documentaries from PBS, WGBH Boston, and The History Channel, as well as newsreel films and footage from the National Archives. Users can select videos by themes such as the American Revolution, the Great Depression, the Space Race, and others. All films include full-text transcripts.

An extensive directory of short biographies on significant, influential, and infamous figures from throughout American history. Maintained by the American Council of Learned Societies and published by Oxford University Press. Also includes numerous illustrations.

A current directory which describes over 200,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland.  It combines the content of Archives USA and National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland.   For the U.S., records come from the Library of Congress’s National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States.

Contains historical collections of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Collections included: America’s Historical Imprints; America’s Historical Newspapers; American State Papers, 1789-1838; U.S Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994.

Describes and provides information about primary source materials, such as historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more, from over 1,000 different archival institutions.

Provides access to digital collections of historical documents. Covers a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.

Provides digitized documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Content spans: 4000 BCE-21st Century

A comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. It provides access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from British Isles. This interface searches: 17th-18th Century Charles Burney Collection of Newspapers and 19th century British Library Newspapers.

A comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century. Largely in English. Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.

A collection of material from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society by Charles Evans, ROGER Bristol, Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Content spans 1639 - 1809

From Readex. Page images are formatted to allow for easy viewing, magnification, printing and saving.  Years of Coverage: 1690 - 1922

A collection of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between native inhabitants and explorers from other countries. Topics include encounter, environment and places, flora, fauna, images, author, year, sources and personal or cultural events. Content spans 1492 - 2003

Provides access to over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) of works published primarily in the United Kingdom during the Eighteenth Century. Titles mainly published in English. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, etc.

Contains full-text primary resources dating from 1492 from the academic publisher Adam Matthew. Includes fully-searchable exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color. Provides thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.

Contains an annotated collection of primary source documents on British history. Covers the years 500 to 1914. Sources include treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, orders, acts, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, and diaries.

Based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.

Contains thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Content spans: c1800-1920

A collection of a range of historical newspapers and periodicals. Access currently includes 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers Parts 1 and 2, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive. Content spans 1600 – 1900.

Provides access to books, pamphlets and periodicals documenting international women’s history and the feminist movement. Content spans 1543 - 1945

An annotated bibliography on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Years of Coverage: 1936 - present.

Provides access to editions of Harper’s Weekly published during the Civil War Era and Reconstruction. Content spans 1857-1877.

Genealogical research tool containing local history books, Federal Census data sets from 1790-1930, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application File, and PERSI, the PERiodical Source Index of genealogy and local history periodicals. Content spans: 1700s - Current

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). All abstracts are written in English. Historical Abstracts also includes book reviews from journals in the field and abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide. Content spans: 1960 - Current.

Covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Traces the actions and decisions of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam. Primary source materials are from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection.

About Iter Bibliography: An online bibliography of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Essential use to scholars of the Middle Ages and/or the Renaissance. ECU also has access to: Baptisteria Sacra inventory list of baptismal fonts dating from the early Christian period to the 17th century. The Electronic Capito Project: access to the letters from and to Wolfgang Faber Capito (c. 1478-1541).The International Directory of Scholars, and Medici Archive Project: describes documents in the Medici Granducal Archive 1537-1743. Includes Iter Italicum and Milton: a Bibliography. Years of Coverage: 400 - 1700

An extensive archive of American and international scholarly journals and books in the humanities, sciences, philosophy, and social sciences.  Provides downloadable PDFs.  Content spans 1800 – 2 years ago.

Provides full-text access to research into the economic history of Western trade. Content spans 1450 - 1945.

Provides documents covering the political, ecclesiastical, social and economic conditions in Britain, Ireland, and Scotland with some coverage of Continental Europe and the American colonies. Content spans 1100 - 1800.

Provides full-text, searchable, facsimile-images of nineteenth-century U. S. newspapers depicting events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also includes illustrated papers.

Provides full text access to the personal writings of American women from all classes and walks of life, from colonial times to 1950. Includes published letters and diaries drawn from hundreds of sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings. Contains biographical information on authors when available.

A collection of full-text scholarly articles from across the humanities. Topics include: art and design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and cultural studies. Designed to complement DAAI, MLA International Bibliography, Philosopher’s Index, and RILM Abstracts. Content spans 1973 – Present.

Offers full-text and full-image articles for numerous historical and popular newspapers, such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. Pages and articles are available to download in PDF format. Offers researchers valuable primary and first-hand resources. Content spans 1851 – present.

Provides access to works about the Americas Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Content spans: 1500-1926.

A large collection of materials on individual slaving expeditions in the Trans-Atlantic region between 1527 and 1866. Records provide details about vessels, enslaved peoples and their cultures, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. Includes image gallery.

A collection of resources on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Contains documents, a chronology of Women’s History in the United States, and a dictionary of social movements and organizations.