It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
According to the New York Public Library, ". . . the bulk of publications on fashion history cover the period from the mid-to-late nineteenth century to the present, with emphasis on individual designers and their work." This means that you can expect to find more information on 19th, 20th, and 21st century fashions than on older fashion.
Even then, you need think creatively when looking for books on fashion and costume history. Begin by searching the online catalog. Use keywords to get started and subject headings to find broad areas of coverage.
ECUstudents and faculty can search for books and request them from regional libraries through .
Look for books in libraries all over the world in WorldCatand request them through ILLiad.
The bibliographies in books and print journals can serve as bread crumbs, leading you to excellent peer-reviewed sources. So browse the shelves, too.
Useful subject terms (not an exhaustive list) in the area of Fashion and Costume:
Clothing and dress
Costume -- history
Costume -- social aspects
Fashion -- history
Fashion -- social aspects
Hairstyles -- history
**You might also want to browse books in the TT 500 range located on the 3rd floor.
One Search is a great place to start your research. It allows you to simultaneously search through a variety of databases and the ECU Libraries' catalog.
This collection includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, and yearbooks. Reference sources for this subject are found in the Reference Room, on the First Floor.
The chronicle of western fashion : from ancient times to the present day - John Peacock
Call Number: GT 511 P42
The complete costume history : from ancient times to the 19th century - Auguste Racinet, 1825-1893
Call Number: GT 510 R3313
Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion - Valerie Steele (editor)
Call Number: REF GT 507 E53
Encyclopedia of world costume - Doreen Yarwood
Call Number: REF GT 507 Y37
The historical encyclopedia of costumes - Albert Racinet
Call Number: REF GT 510 R3313
The illustrated encyclopaedia of costume and fashion: from 1066 to the present - Jack Cassin-Scott
Call Number: REF GT 720 C37
The St. James fashion encyclopedia: a survey of style from 1945 to the present - Richard Martin (editor)
Call Number: REF GT 596 S7