- Bata Shoe Museum, Canada
Located in Toronto, the world's largest collection of shoes and shoe related objects
New records, updates and images are added every week.
With over 50,000 costumes and textile artifacts from the mid-18th century to the present, the Chicago History Museum Costume Collection is the second largest in the world and one of the nation’s most complete repositories .
The Museum provides students with first-hand experience with historic and contemporary fashions, as well as costumes representing many of the world's cultures
A collection of over 500 examples of original historic clothing, dating from the mid-nineteenth century to the present.
Includes information about historical costume, be it theatre costume designers or reenactors, students of fashion design or doll makers.
Many of these plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century.
- Costume Institute
The Costume Institute houses a collection of more than thirty thousand costumes and accessories spanning five continents and as many centuries. Arguably the preeminent institution of its kind in the world,...
-
advances the global understanding of all aspects of dress and appearance. We work to stimulate scholarship and encourage study in the rich and diverse field of costume
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Department of Costumes and Textiles of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art houses an encyclopedic collection of more than fifty thousand objects, representing more than one hundred cultures and two thousand years of human creativity in the textile arts.
- Museum of Costume
World class collection of historical and contemporary dress
- Smithsonian Instituion, Museum of American History
Washington DC; the Costume Collection at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, Behring Center, contains over 30,000 garments and accessories representing the changing appearance of Americans from the 17th century to the present.
- Textile Museum
Dedicated to further understanding of achievements in the textile arts; located in Washington, DC; in the fall 2009 The Textile Museum will open a second site, dedicated to rotating exhibitions and public programs, in downtown Washington, D.C.
- Textile Museum of Canada
Explore the continuim of textile art through time and space from 2000 years in the past until the day after tomorrow.
- Victoria and Albert Museum, V&A
Discover 3000 years' worth of amazing artefacts from many of the world's richest cultures including ceramics, furniture, fashion, glass, jewellery, metalwork, photographs, sculpture, textiles and paintings.
-
A complete searchable archive from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
