Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

North Carolina Resources: a General Guide: Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines

Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines

Finding Articles (Magazines and Journals)

  • North Carolina Periodicals Index 
    Provides access to articles in approximately 50 periodicals published in North Carolina, 1992-present. Includes some articles published prior to 1992. Periodicals are located in the North Carolina Collection on the 3rd floor.

Finding Articles (Newspapers)

  • North Carolina Collection Clipping File 
    Contains articles clipped from the Daily Reflector (Greenville) and the News and Observer (Raleigh). Use the database to identify articles. The Clipping File is especially useful for finding information about local issues and organizations. Request articles in the North Carolina Collection, Third Floor Drum.
  • Daily Reflector Index 
    Compiled by Pitt County historian Roger Kammerer, this is a compilation of brief abstracts of articles appearing in the Eastern Reflector (Greenville) and the Daily Reflector (Greenville) during the period 1882-1906. The newspaper articles are available on microfilm in the North Carolina Collection. 
  • Newsbank: North Carolina Newspapers   
    Full text access to newspapers from across the state.  Though coverage for each title varies, dates include 1985 to the present.
  • Historic North Carolina Digital Newspapers Collection
  • Contains articles clipped from the Daily Reflector (Greenville) and the News and Observer (Raleigh). Use the database to identify articles. The Clipping File is especially useful for finding information about local issues and organizations. Request articles in the North Carolina Collection, Third Floor Drum.