Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

North Carolina Resources: a General Guide: Reference Works, Bibliographies, and Biography

Reference Works, Bibliographies, and Biography

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of North Carolina
    NoCar Ref F 254 E54 2006 
    This 1,314-page reference book contains more than 2,000 brief articles pertaining to varied aspects of North Carolina's past and present. It is is the single best source of basic information about North Carolina. Most entries contain a brief list of references. A useful index and numerous illustrations are included. This item is located in the North Carolina Collection.

Bibliographies

  • North Carolina History: an Annotated Bibliography
    NoCar Ref F 254 J66 1995 
    Organized by broad time periods of the state's history, this bibliography lists and provides brief annotations for books, periodical articles, theses and dissertations, and other sources. An index is included.

Directories

  • North Carolina Business Directory
    NoCar Ref HD 9727 N8 N66x 
    Lists businesses of all kinds by type of business and by city; provides basic information about each business.

Biography

  • North Carolina Collection Biographical Index (UNC-Chapel Hill)
    The NCCBI is a collection of citations to biographical sketches of North Carolinians. Though most of the works from which the index was constructed are from the North Carolina Collection at Chapel Hill, most are also available in the Verona Joyner Langford North Carolina Collection at ECU. Searchers should cross check works they are interested in against the ECU catalog to determine if they are available locally.