Research Guides: Marketing and Advertising: Sports Marketing

Directories

Hoovers
Hoover's Online is a business research platform that allows you to search U.S. and international company listings by industry, size, and geography to build lists, create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, and raise funds.

Industry Information

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry market reports and data searchable by keyword, industry sector, and report listings. Subscription includes US Industry Reports (NAICS), China Industry Reports (excluding Archives), and Global Industry Reports.
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Supports Big Data and Analytics Research Cluster. Provides business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor’s independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries. Content includes: detailed stock reports, company profiles, bond reports, corporation records, mutual fund reports, security dealers’ directory and industry surveys.

Print Resources

Sports Market Place Directory (Joyner Reference Department)

Ref. HD 9992 .U5 S667 2021

Directory information for:

Single Sport Organizations
Professional Leagues, Teams & Organizations
Multi-Sport Organizations
Disabled Sports Organizations
High School Sports & Youth Sports Organizations
Military Sports
Olympic Federations, Governing Bodies & Organizations
Sports Commissions
Halls of Fame, Libraries & Museums
State Games Organizations
Media
Major Daily Newspapers & Publications
Radio Production Studios & Sports Radio Stations
TV Production & Pay-Per-View
Sponsors
Sponsorship & Marketing Event Agencies
Event & Meeting Calendars
Professional Services
Executive Search & Athlete Recruiting Services
Financial Services
Market Research & Statistical Services
Agents & Attorneys
College Sports
Associations & Athletic Conferences
NAIA & NCAA Division I-III Colleges
Sports Management Degree Programs
Manufacturers & Retailers
Facilities
Arenas & Stadiums
Architects & Developers
Insurance & Management Companies
Security & Sound Consulting
Food Service & Concessionaires
Race Tracks – Auto, Equestrian, Greyhound
Ticket Related Companies

Articles

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering sports and sports medicine research. Topics include: physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, college and university sport, disabled persons, facility design and management, intramural and school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, public health, occupational health and therapy. Content spans 1800 – present. Access is limited to 4 users at a time. Click here for a guide to this database
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of business and management publications. Includes journals, dissertations, working papers, key business newspapers, trade publications, country-and industry-focused reports and data. Topics covered include business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for scholarly business journals, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, and SWOT analyses. Topics include: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Content spans 1886 – Present.