Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers: North Carolina Newspapers

Newspapers

Daily Reflector Negatives Collection

Image of a horse drawn carriage

Two men in a horse-drawn cart reminding voters of Herbert Hoover's administration and urging them to vote for Adlai Stevenson in the upcoming Presidential election.  Date from negative sleeve.

Daily Reflector (Greenville, N.C.)
1951

Find this image and more in Joyner Library Digital Collections' Seeds of Change.

North Carolina Newspaper Databases

 

Tutorials

The North Carolina Collection has created web tutorials to assist you with our newspaper resources.  Please select from the list below:

North Carolina Newspapers in Print

A guide to our North Carolina newspaper holdings has been created by the North Carolina Collection here.  Most newspapers and periodicals related to North Carolina can be found in the North Carolina Collection.  Many of our local and state newspaper archives are available on microfilm, including some coverage as far back as 1751.  For a list of these holdings, try the Guide to North Carolina Newspapers on Microfilm.  These titles are also searchable using the library catalog.  Newspapers on microfilm are arranged alphabetically in the North Carolina Collection microfilm room.  Assistance with microfilm is available at the North Carolina Collection service desk.

Those interested primarily in Greenville and Pitt County-related stories might consider using the North Carolina Newspapers clipping file, which indexes select select articles by subject.  Searchable online, the clipping file is mostly comprised by Daily Reflector and News and Observer articles, with the greatest coverage falling between 1992 and 2005.

Understanding the Catalog Record

You can find individual print titles in the catalog.  Use these item records to physically locate items within the building or to see if we have access to any digital copies.  Below is an example of the Charlotte Observer digital access record.

Image of the ECU Library Catalog

In the example below, the record indicates that current issues of the Charlotte Observer are available in the North Carolina periodicals section, while older issues can be found on microfilm in the North Carolina room.

Image of the ECU Catalog's Charlotte Observer page