K-12 Primary Source Instruction: Resources

To begin your search for primary sources, check out these online repositories!

Library of Congress: https://www.loc.gov/

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA): https://www.archives.gov/ 

Digital Public Library of America: https://dp.la/

Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives: https://sova.si.edu/

North Carolina Digital Collections: https://digital.ncdcr.gov/

*ArchiveGrid (aggregates archival repositories based on country/state): https://researchworks.oclc.org/archivegrid/

A LibGuide is a librarian-created resource that compiles information related to a specific topic. There are a variety of LibGuides available related to primary sources that can help you get started. Check out the LibGuides below! 

How to Find Primary Sources

Finding Primary Source Materials LibGuide: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/FindingPrimarySources/Home

Finding and Using Primary Sources LibGuide: https://guides.library.duke.edu/primarysources

Primary Source Database Vendors

Gale Primary Sources and Digital Scholar Lab: https://libguides.ecu.edu/Gale/home

Adam Matthew Explorer Primary Sources: https://libguides.ecu.edu/c.php?g=1445003

ProQuest Primary Sources: https://proquest.libguides.com/pscollections/content

Primary Source Databases by Subject

*Digital Archives by Subject: https://guides.library.fresnostate.edu/primarysources/digitalarchives/home

Art & Architecture: https://guides.library.harvard.edu/art_history/primary

Dance: https://guides.nyu.edu/DanceEducation/primary-sources

English Literature: https://libguides.colorado.edu/c.php?g=483730&p=7728220

Federal Government Information: https://libguides.ecu.edu/federal_government_information

History: https://libguides.ecu.edu/c.php?g=17366&p=97905

Math: https://irsc.libguides.com/historyofmath

Music: https://libguides.liberty.edu/c.php?g=1025550&p=7449811

Science: https://libguides.lib.msu.edu/scienceprimarysources

Theatre: https://guides.nyu.edu/Theatre/primary-sources

For pre-made primary source sets (*include teaching guides), check out the links below!

Library of Congress Primary Source Sets: https://www.loc.gov/programs/teachers/classroom-materials/primary-source-sets/

National Archives and Records Administration DocsTeach: https://www.docsteach.org/activities/activities

Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets: https://dp.la/primary-source-sets

Digital NC Primary Source Sets: https://www.digitalnc.org/primary-source-sets/

Joyner Library Special Collections offers a variety of primary sources that may be helpful to you and your students! Our collections include the North Carolina Collection, University Archives, Manuscripts Collection, Rare Books Collection, and Digital Collections. To explore more of our resources and services, please see the links below!

Special Collections Website: https://library.ecu.edu/specialcollections/

Digital Collections: https://digital.lib.ecu.edu/

Through the America 250 NC Local Grant awarded in 2024, the Pitt County America 250 Committee launched the "Gathering Voices Project". Alongside other local initiatives, primary source starter kits were created to be disbursed to all Pitt County schools. The kits aim to address the need for local perspectives in K-12 curriculums. Additionally, they focus on primary source instruction as a means for exploring themes related to America 250, while accomplishing student learning standards. 

Each kit includes lesson plans, primary source facsimiles, and supplemental books. With a focus on eastern North Carolina history, the themes/topics addressed in the kits are Native American History & Culture, the Edenton Tea Party, and the Wright Brothers. For access to the lesson plans and digital versions of the primary sources, please see the links below!