Research Guides: Cultural Heritage and Tourism for Art History: Statistics

Multi-Country Resources

EuroStat
Eurostat collects data from the statistical offices of EU member countries.
International Data Base
Created in the Census Bureau's International Programs Center, the International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized source of demographic and socio-economic statistics for all countries of the world.
more...less...
The IDB combines data from country sources (especially censuses and surveys) with IPC's estimates and projections to provide information dating back as far as 1950 and as far ahead as 2050.
NationMaster: World Statistics, Country Comparisons
A handy way to graphically compare nations. Using data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD you can generate maps and graphs with ease.

Regional Data

SimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Click the link below to be taken to this resource.

Selected Thematic Resources

Children -- UNICEF
UNICEF measures the situation of children and women and tracks progress through data collection and analysis.
Crime -- U.N.O.D.C.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. Includes the World Drug Report.
Development -- World Bank
Cross-country, cross-sector, thematic research outputs from the World Bank's main research unit.
more...less...
The World Bank is made up of two unique development institutions owned by 186 member countries — the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA).
Education -- UNESCO Institute for Statistics
The first stop for education data from around the world.
Energy -- International Energy Association
An intergovernmental organisation which acts as energy policy advisor to 28 member countries.
Environment -- EarthWatch
Environmental data from the United Nations
Families -- OECD Family Database
Cross-national indicators on the situation of families and children for OECD countries.
Food & Agriculture -- CountryStat (FAO)
From the United Nations' Food & Agriculture Organization Statistics Division.
Health Indicators -- World Health Organization (U.N.)
Responsible for providing leadership on global health matters.
more...less...
WHO shapes the health research agenda, sets norms and standards, articulates evidence-based policy options, provides technical support to countries and monitors and assesses health trends.
Human Rights -- Amnesty International
Maintains counttry-by-country information.

United Nations

Human Development Report (UNDEP)
From the United Nations Development Program -- a 'don't miss' for the study of many important global issues. Free and full-text.
United Nations Official Document System
Includes all types of official United Nations documentation originating from duty stations worldwide
more...less...
Includes selective documents of the regional commissions: Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA), Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) and Economic Commission for Europe (ECE). Searching is by word or phrase, date, job number, words in title, subject, session and agenda item number. See also the UN Documentation Centre, available at http://www.un.org/documents/.

Years of Coverage: 1993 - Current; older records added on a selective basis

Cultural Heritage and Tourism for Art History: Statistics

Statistical Information

Multi-Country Resources

Regional Data

Selected Thematic Resources

United Nations