ALA - Stonewall Book Award Seal
The first and most enduring award for LGBTQA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience. The award for children’s and young adult literature began in 2010.
Click on the award seal image for additional information.
2024 Stonewall Book Award Winners
Cross My Heart and Never Lie
Children's Literature Award
Author: Nora Dasnes
Grade Level: 6 - 8
Call Number: Not in current collection*
Description: "In this fresh, sensitive, diary-style graphic novel, 12-year-old Tuva's questions about becoming a teenager are confusing—so when her first crush turns out to be on another girl, it feels absolutely wonderful--so why does it become so complicated?"- Novel List
Only This Beautiful Moment
Young Adult Literature Award
Author: Abdi Nazemian
Grade Level: 10 - 12
Call Number: Not in current collection*
Description: "Set against the backdrop of Tehran and Los Angeles, this sweeping intergenerational story, examining queer identity at the end of different decades, follows three boys in the same Iranian family as they each gain a new understanding of their history, culture--and themselves." -- NoveList
2024 Stonewall Honorable Mention Titles
Desert Queen
Author: Jyoti Rajan Gopal
Call Number: Not in current collection*
Not He or She, I'm Me
Author: A.M. Wild
Call Number: Not in current collection*
The Otherwoods
Author: Justine Winans
Call Number: Not in current collection*
Stars in There Eyes
Author: Jessica Walton
Call Number: Not in current collection*
Ander & Santi Were Here
Author: Jonny Villa
Call Number: Not in current collection*
Imogen, Obviously
Author: Beck Albertalli
Call Number: F AL146I
The Long Run
Author: James Acker
Call Number: Not in current collection*
The Spirit Bares Its Teeth
Author: Andrew White
Call Number: F W5822S
Click on each book cover image to view the title in ECU's library catalog.
2023 2023
2022 2022
2021 2020
2020 2019
2019
