Research Guides: #OwnVoice: University Archive

About

The University Archives are the repository for East Carolina University records – including documents created by ECU’s schools and departments, student groups, faculty members, presidents and chancellors, and administrative offices. The Archives also preserve student publications and material related to ECU sports.

Here you will find just some of the #OwnVoice resources currently available in the University Archives. More materials can be found in Joyner Library's University Archives or electronically in the Library Catalogue.

Manuscripts

Records of Student Life: Records of East Carolina Native American Organization by East Carolina Native American Organization
Call Number: #UA45.06
Publication Date: 1989-2007
The East Carolina Native American Organization was founded in 1971 as a community among the Native American students at East Carolina University. The organization sponsors programs to increase awareness and understanding of Native American cultures by the campus and surrounding community.

Oral History Collection: Aaron Lucier Oral History
In this oral history Aaron Lucier discusses his experiences as an openly gay man working at East Carolina University and his involvement in its LGBT community including participation in and advising of BGLAD. He also discusses the former Down East Pride organization that served all of eastern North Carolina.
Oral History Collection: Jesse Peel Oral History
In this oral history Dr. Jesse Peel discusses the creation of the Jesse R. Peel LGBTQ Center and LGBT Advisory Board at East Carolina University.
Oral History Collection: Kenneth Hammond Oral History
In this oral history interview Kenneth Hammond discusses his time as both a student and an employee at East Carolina University including his work in the various incarnations of the student union, campus events, helping found the school's first African American Greek organization Alpha Phi Alpha, and events related to the civil rights movement.
Oral History Collection: Marilyn Sheerer Oral History
In this oral history Marilyn Sheerer discusses the development of support for the LGBTQ community at East Carolina University and her work with Jesse Peel on the creation of the Jesse R. Peel LGBTQ Center.
Oral History Collection: Mark Zumbach Oral History
In this oral history Mark Zumbach discusses his involvement in the creation of the East Carolina Gay Community student organization at East Carolina University and the work of that organization.
Oral History Collection: Richard Elkins Oral History
In this oral history Richard Elkins discusses his experience as a gay male student at East Carolina University and his role in the creation of and participation in the student organization BGLAD. He also discusses the LGBT community on campus at that time.
Oral History Collection: Steven Ballard Oral History
In this oral history interview Steve Ballard discusses the formation of and his work with the Chancellor's Diversity Council and the LGBT resource office.
Oral History Collection: Summer Wisdom Oral History
In this oral history Summer Wisdom details her master's project, which resulted in the establishment of East Carolina University's first Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender center, as well as the process of establishing that center and her experience being its first employee.
Oral History Collection: Virginia Hardy Oral History
In this oral history Dr. Virginia Hardy discusses the history of the East Carolina University's Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Center, its move from Brewster Hall to the new Student Union including its renaming to the Jesse R. Peel LGBTQ center, and its directions for the future. Additionally, she discusses the shifts in campus culture related to the LGBTQ community and becoming a part of the nationwide Campus Pride Index.
Records of Student Affairs: Records of Ledonia Wright Cultural Center
This collection contains newsletters and brochures about the Ledonia Wright Cultural Center at East Carolina University and information about its events.
Records of Student Affairs: Records of Registered Student Organizations
This collection contains records of East Carolina University's registered student organizations.
Records of Student Affairs: Records of the Dr. Jesse R. Peel LGBTQ Center
This collection contains materials related to the creation of the Dr. Jesse R. Peel LGBTQ Center at East Carolina University, specifically Dr. Peel's correspondence and a diary, as well as photographs and digital files related to the earlier incarnations of the center.
Records of Student Life: Records of East Carolina Native American Organization (finding aid)
Collection contains printed materials documenting the activities of the organization as well as cultural objects belonging to the organization.
Wampum Belt from the Tuscarora Nation
The "Nooherooka Wampum Belt" tells a story of the Tuscarora Nation's experience in North Carolina and New York, and is sacred to the Tuscarora people. East Carolina University is located on lands that are at the geographic center of lands occupied by the Tuscarora for over 1000 years. On March 21, 2013, a commemoration ceremony was held in honor of the 300th anniversary of the Neyuheruke Battle that occurred thirty miles from campus.