Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Trauma Symposium 2021: Current Trends in Trauma Care: Morning Sessions, Nov. 3

November 12, 2021

Conference Brochure

                                                                                                                                  

Mass Shootings in America: University Medical Center’s Response to the Las Vegas Shooting

1.

Mass Casualty Shootings and Emergency Preparedness: A Multidisciplinary Approach for an Unpredictable Event.

Melmer P, Carlin M, Castater CA, Koganti D, Hurst SD, Tracy BM, Grant AA, Williams K, Smith RN, Dente CJ, Sciarretta JD.

J Multidiscip Healthc. 2019 Dec 10;12:1013-1021. doi: 10.2147/JMDH.S219021. eCollection 2019.

PMID: 31849477 Free PMC article. Review.

2.

Addressing Mass Shootings in a New Light.

Ahmad M, Mekala H, Lone J, Robinson K, Shah K.

Cureus. 2020 Jul 20;12(7):e9298. doi: 10.7759/cureus.9298.

PMID: 32832295 Free PMC article. Review.

3.

Income inequality and mass shootings in the United States.

Kwon R, Cabrera JF.

BMC Public Health. 2019 Sep 20;19(1):1147. doi: 10.1186/s12889-019-7490-x.

PMID: 31537201 Free PMC article.

4.

Effect of mass shootings on gun sales-A 20-year perspective.

Callcut RA, Robles AM, Kornblith LZ, Plevin RE, Mell MW.

J Trauma Acute Care Surg. 2019 Sep;87(3):531-540. doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000002399.

PMID: 31162332 Free PMC article.

5.

How to Stop Mass Shootings.

Wintemute GJ.

N Engl J Med. 2018 Sep 27;379(13):1193-1196. doi: 10.1056/NEJMp1807277.

PMID: 30257162 No abstract available.

6.

Mass Shootings and Psychiatric Deinstitutionalization, Here and Abroad.

Perera IM, Sisti DA.

Am J Public Health. 2019 Jun;109(S3):S176-S177. doi: 10.2105/AJPH.2018.304764.

PMID: 31242017 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

7.

Pre-hospital management of mass casualty civilian shootings: a systematic literature review.

Turner CD, Lockey DJ, Rehn M.

Crit Care. 2016 Nov 8;20(1):362. doi: 10.1186/s13054-016-1543-7.

PMID: 27825363 Free PMC article. Review.

8.

What have we learned from the time trend of mass shootings in the U.S.?

Lin PI, Fei L, Barzman D, Hossain M.

PLoS One. 2018 Oct 18;13(10):e0204722. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0204722. eCollection 2018.

PMID: 30335790 Free PMC article.

9.

The Effect of Large-Capacity Magazine Bans on High-Fatality Mass Shootings, 1990-2017.

Klarevas L, Conner A, Hemenway D.

Am J Public Health. 2019 Dec;109(12):1754-1761. doi: 10.2105/AJPH.2019.305311. Epub 2019 Oct 17.

PMID: 31622147 Free PMC article.

10.

Deadly Mass Shootings, Mental Health, and Policies and Regulations: What We Are Obligated to Do!

Leiner M, De la Vega I, Johansson B.

Front Pediatr. 2018 Apr 16;6:99. doi: 10.3389/fped.2018.00099. eCollection 2018.

PMID: 29713624 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

Evaluation and Management of the Rural Trauma Patient

1.

Evaluation of trauma resources in rural northern Alberta identifies opportunities for improvement.

Jiang HY, MacLean A, Yoon J, Hughes S, Kim MJ, Anantha RV, Widder SL; Edmonton Zone Trauma and Acute Care Collaborative (EZ-TRACC).

Can J Surg. 2020 Aug 28;63(5):E383-E390. doi: 10.1503/cjs.007119.

PMID: 32856887 Free PMC article.

2.

Antifibrinolytics in a rural trauma state: assessing the opportunities.

Bardes JM, Palmer A, Con J, Wilson A, Schaefer G.

Trauma Surg Acute Care Open. 2017 Oct 5;2(1):e000107. doi: 10.1136/tsaco-2017-000107. eCollection 2017.

PMID: 29766102 Free PMC article.

3.

Impact of telemedicine on diagnosis, clinical management and outcomes in rural trauma patients: A rapid review.

Lapointe L, Lavallee-Bourget MH, Pichard-Jolicoeur A, Turgeon-Pelchat C, Fleet R.

Can J Rural Med. 2020 Jan-Mar;25(1):31-40. doi: 10.4103/CJRM.CJRM_8_19.

PMID: 31854340 Review.

4.

Profile of trauma mortality and trauma care resources at rural emergency departments and urban trauma centres in Quebec: a population-based, retrospective cohort study.

Fleet R, Lauzier F, Tounkara FK, Turcotte S, Poitras J, Morris J, Ouimet M, Fortin JP, Plant J, Légaré F, Dupuis G, Turgeon-Pelchat C.

BMJ Open. 2019 Jun 2;9(6):e028512. doi: 10.1136/bmjopen-2018-028512.

PMID: 31160276 Free PMC article.

5.

Trauma Trends During the Initial Peak of the COVID-19 Pandemic in the Midst of Lockdown: Experiences From a Rural Trauma Center.

Rhodes HX, Petersen K, Biswas S.

Cureus. 2020 Aug 17;12(8):e9811. doi: 10.7759/cureus.9811.

PMID: 32953322 Free PMC article.

6.

Evaluation of Rural vs Urban Trauma Patients Served by 9-1-1 Emergency Medical Services.

Newgard CD, Fu R, Bulger E, Hedges JR, Mann NC, Wright DA, Lehrfeld DP, Shields C, Hoskins G, Warden C, Wittwer L, Cook JN, Verkest M, Conway W, Somerville S, Hansen M.

JAMA Surg. 2017 Jan 1;152(1):11-18. doi: 10.1001/jamasurg.2016.3329.

PMID: 27732713 Free PMC article.

7.

Improved Survival for Rural Trauma Patients Transported by Helicopter to a Verified Trauma Center: A Propensity Score Analysis.

Zhu TH, Hollister L, Opoku D, Galvagno SM Jr.

Acad Emerg Med. 2018 Jan;25(1):44-53. doi: 10.1111/acem.13307. Epub 2017 Nov 2.

PMID: 28898557 Free PMC article.

8.

Emergency Department Telemedicine Is Used for More Severely Injured Rural Trauma Patients, but Does Not Decrease Transfer: A Cohort Study.

Mohr NM, Harland KK, Chrischilles EA, Bell A, Shane DM, Ward MM.

Acad Emerg Med. 2017 Feb;24(2):177-185. doi: 10.1111/acem.13120.

PMID: 28187248

9.

Comparing orthopaedic paediatric trauma in a rural district general hospital and an urban major trauma centre: A retrospective cohort study.

Dunn MJ, Amer MM, Soupashi MM.

Ann Med Surg (Lond). 2021 Apr 13;65:102276. doi: 10.1016/j.amsu.2021.102276. eCollection 2021 May.

PMID: 33981420 Free PMC article.

10.

Incidence, Prevalence, and Outcomes of Pediatric Trauma in Rural Appalachia (West Virginia) From 2017 to 2019.

Ellison P, Cifarelli D, Pearce A, Moore L, Parrish D, Ellison M, Fazi A, Vanek T, Meltzer H, Knight J.

Cureus. 2021 Apr 1;13(4):e14245. doi: 10.7759/cureus.14245.

PMID: 33824845 Free PMC article.

Infections Associated with Traumatic Injuries

1.

Mould Infections of Traumatic Wounds: A Brief Narrative Review.

Giacobbe DR, Riccardi N, Vena A, Bassetti M.

Infect Dis Ther. 2020 Mar;9(1):1-15. doi: 10.1007/s40121-020-00284-8. Epub 2020 Feb 18.

PMID: 32072492 Free PMC article. Review.

2.

The traumatic bone: trauma-induced heterotopic ossification.

Dey D, Wheatley BM, Cholok D, Agarwal S, Yu PB, Levi B, Davis TA.

Transl Res. 2017 Aug;186:95-111. doi: 10.1016/j.trsl.2017.06.004. Epub 2017 Jun 15.

PMID: 28668522 Free PMC article. Review.

3.

β-Blockade use for Traumatic Injuries and Immunomodulation: A Review of Proposed Mechanisms and Clinical Evidence.

Loftus TJ, Efron PA, Moldawer LL, Mohr AM.

Shock. 2016 Oct;46(4):341-51. doi: 10.1097/SHK.0000000000000636.

PMID: 27172161 Free PMC article. Review.

4.

Management of multiple traumas in emergency medicine department: A review.

Kashani P, Saberinia A.

J Family Med Prim Care. 2019 Dec 10;8(12):3789-3797. doi: 10.4103/jfmpc.jfmpc_774_19. eCollection 2019 Dec.

PMID: 31879615 Free PMC article. Review.

5.

Mycobacterium arupense finger osteomyelitis: Case report.

Jaime-Villalonga A, Saul Z, Miljkovic G.

Int J Infect Dis. 2020 Mar;92:226-227. doi: 10.1016/j.ijid.2020.01.027. Epub 2020 Jan 21.

PMID: 31978582

6.

TRAUMATIC INJURIES OF THE CERVICAL SPINE: CURRENT EPIDEMIOLOGICAL PANORAMA.

Negrelli MAC, Oliveira RG, Rocha IDD, Cristante AF, Marcon RM, Barros TEP FILHO.

Acta Ortop Bras. 2018 Mar-Apr;26(2):123-126. doi: 10.1590/1413-785220182602185460.

PMID: 29983629 Free PMC article.

7.

Vitamin D deficiency in critically ill patients with traumatic injuries.

Dickerson RN, Van Cleve JR, Swanson JM, Maish GO 3rd, Minard G, Croce MA, Brown RO.

Burns Trauma. 2016 Oct 17;4:28. doi: 10.1186/s41038-016-0054-8. eCollection 2016.

PMID: 27833924 Free PMC article.

8.

Management of industrial high-pressure fluid injection injuries (IHPFII): the Water Jetting Association (WJA) experience with water driven injuries.

Rodríguez-Villar S, Kennedy RC, Dall'Antonia M, Menichetti CP.

Eur J Trauma Emerg Surg. 2019 Jun;45(3):507-515. doi: 10.1007/s00068-019-01106-4. Epub 2019 Mar 20.

PMID: 30895338 Free PMC article.

9.

Reactive Oxygen Species and Pressure Ulcer Formation after Traumatic Injury to Spinal Cord and Brain.

Kumar S, Theis T, Tschang M, Nagaraj V, Berthiaume F.

Antioxidants (Basel). 2021 Jun 24;10(7):1013. doi: 10.3390/antiox10071013.

PMID: 34202655 Free PMC article. Review.

10.

Invasive fungal wound infection in an otherwise healthy trauma patient (Mucor Trauma).

Wilson W, Ali-Osman F, Sucher J, Shirah G, Mangram A.

Trauma Case Rep. 2019 Nov 20;24:100251. doi: 10.1016/j.tcr.2019.100251. eCollection 2019 Dec.

PMID: 31788530 Free PMC article.

Severe TBI Management and Changing Patterns in Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic

1.

Perioperative management strategy of severe traumatic brain injury during the outbreak of COVID-19.

Chen P, Xiong XH, Chen Y, Wang K, Zhang QT, Zhou W, Deng YB.

Chin J Traumatol. 2020 Aug;23(4):202-206. doi: 10.1016/j.cjtee.2020.05.006. Epub 2020 May 22.

PMID: 32540201 Free PMC article.

2.

The influence of the COVID-19 pandemic on traumatic brain injuries in Tyrol: experiences from a state under lockdown.

Pinggera D, Klein B, Thomé C, Grassner L.

Eur J Trauma Emerg Surg. 2021 Jun;47(3):653-658. doi: 10.1007/s00068-020-01445-7. Epub 2020 Jul 22.

PMID: 32699916 Free PMC article.

3.

Severe Pediatric TBI Management in a Middle-Income Country and a High-Income Country: A Comparative Assessment of Two Centers.

Arango JI, George L, Griswold DP, Johnson ED, Suarez MN, Caquimbo LD, Molano M, Echeverri RA, Rubiano AM, Adelson PD.

Front Surg. 2021 Aug 12;8:670546. doi: 10.3389/fsurg.2021.670546. eCollection 2021.

PMID: 34458313 Free PMC article.

4.

Factors associated with receipt of intracranial pressure monitoring in older adults with traumatic brain injury.

Ghneim M, Albrecht J, Brasel K, Knight A, Liveris A, Watras J, Michetti CP, Haan J, Lightwine K, Winfield RD, Adams SD, Podbielski J, Armen S, Zacko JC, Nasrallah FS, Schaffer KB, Dunn JA, Smoot B, Schroeppel TJ, Stillman Z, Cooper Z, Stein DM; Geri-TBI Study.

Trauma Surg Acute Care Open. 2021 Jul 23;6(1):e000733. doi: 10.1136/tsaco-2021-000733. eCollection 2021.

PMID: 34395918 Free PMC article.

5.

Management of arterial partial pressure of carbon dioxide in the first week after traumatic brain injury: results from the CENTER-TBI study.

Citerio G, Robba C, Rebora P, Petrosino M, Rossi E, Malgeri L, Stocchetti N, Galimberti S, Menon DK; Center-TBI participants and investigators.

Intensive Care Med. 2021 Sep;47(9):961-973. doi: 10.1007/s00134-021-06470-7. Epub 2021 Jul 24.

PMID: 34302517 Free PMC article.

6.

Association Between Intoxication and Urgent Neurosurgical Procedures in Severe Traumatic Brain Injury: Results From the American College of Surgeons Trauma Quality Improvement Program.

Tillmann BW, Nathens AB, Scales DC, Haas B.

J Intensive Care Med. 2021 May 20:8850666211017497. doi: 10.1177/08850666211017497. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 34013826

7.

Severe traumatic brain injury and hypotension is a frequent and lethal combination in multiple trauma patients in mountain areas - an analysis of the prospective international Alpine Trauma Registry.

Rauch S, Marzolo M, Cappello TD, Ströhle M, Mair P, Pietsch U, Brugger H, Strapazzon G; IATR study group.

Scand J Trauma Resusc Emerg Med. 2021 Apr 30;29(1):61. doi: 10.1186/s13049-021-00879-1.

PMID: 33931076 Free PMC article.

8.

Characteristics, management and outcomes of patients with severe traumatic brain injury in Victoria, Australia compared to United Kingdom and Europe: A comparison between two harmonised prospective cohort studies.

Wiegers EJA, Trapani T, Gabbe BJ, Gantner D, Lecky F, Maas AIR, Menon DK, Murray L, Rosenfeld JV, Vallance S, Lingsma HF, Steyerberg EW, Cooper DJ; CENTER-TBI and OzENTER-TBI investigators and participants12, Collaboration groups: CENTER-TBI and OzENTER-TBI investigators and participants.

Injury. 2021 Sep;52(9):2576-2587. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2021.04.033. Epub 2021 Apr 20.

PMID: 33910683

9.

Traumatic Brain Injury and Incidence Risk of Sleep Disorders in Nearly 200,000 US Veterans.

Leng Y, Byers AL, Barnes DE, Peltz CB, Li Y, Yaffe K.

Neurology. 2021 Mar 30;96(13):e1792-e1799. doi: 10.1212/WNL.0000000000011656. Epub 2021 Mar 3.

PMID: 33658328 Free PMC article.

10.

Addressing Key Clinical Care and Clinical Research Needs in Severe Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury: Perspectives From a Focused International Conference.

Nacoti M, Fazzi F, Biroli F, Zangari R, Barbui T, Kochanek PM; Collaborative Pediatric TBI Working Group.

Front Pediatr. 2021 Jan 18;8:594425. doi: 10.3389/fped.2020.594425. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 33537259 Free PMC article. Review.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Jeff Coghill
Contact:
600 Moye Blvd.
Laupus Library
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27834
252-744-2066
Subjects: Eastern AHEC