Skip to main content

2020 32nd Annual Recent Developments in Internal Medicine (RDIM): Wednesday, October 8

October 8-10, 2020

Conference Brochure

                                                                                                                                                                                                      

Immunization Updates for Primary Care

Review the current recommendations for:
• Seasonal Influenza
• Tetanus vaccinations
• Zoster vaccination
• Human papilloma virus vaccination
• Pneumococcal vaccinations
• Meningococcal group B vaccination
 

1.

Infection prevention and control measures in practices of the Swiss sentinel network during seasonal influenza epidemics.

Peytremann A, Senn PN, Mueller DY.

J Hosp Infect. 2020 Sep 3:S0195-6701(20)30414-X. doi: 10.1016/j.jhin.2020.08.026. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32891687 Free PMC article.

2.

Evaluation of an intervention aimed at supporting new parents: the Baby Newsletter project.

Panza C, Volta A, Broccoli S, Bonvicini L, Kendall S, Marchesi M, Giorgi Rossi P.

Ital J Pediatr. 2020 Sep 4;46(1):123. doi: 10.1186/s13052-020-00886-5.

PMID: 32887637

3.

Practice Advisory on the Appropriate Use of NSAIDs in Primary Care.

Ho KY, Cardosa MS, Chaiamnuay S, Hidayat R, Ho HQT, Kamil O, Mokhtar SA, Nakata K, Navarra SV, Nguyen VH, Pinzon R, Tsuruoka S, Yim HB, Choy E.

J Pain Res. 2020 Aug 3;13:1925-1939. doi: 10.2147/JPR.S247781. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32821151 Free PMC article. Review.

4.

The VRIMM study: Virtual Reality for IMMunisation pain in young children-protocol for a randomised controlled trial.

Ellerton K, Tharmarajah H, Medres R, Brown L, Ringelblum D, Vogel K, Dolphin A, McKellar S, Bridson F, John-White M, Craig S.

BMJ Open. 2020 Aug 20;10(8):e038354. doi: 10.1136/bmjopen-2020-038354.

PMID: 32819997 Free PMC article.

5.

Primary care visits increase utilization of evidence-based preventative health measures.

Hostetter J, Schwarz N, Klug M, Wynne J, Basson MD.

BMC Fam Pract. 2020 Jul 28;21(1):151. doi: 10.1186/s12875-020-01216-8.

PMID: 32718313 Free PMC article.

6.

Implementation of the United Kingdom's childhood influenza national vaccination programme: A review of clinical impact and lessons learned over six influenza seasons.

Kassianos G, MacDonald P, Aloysius I, Reynolds A.

Vaccine. 2020 Aug 10;38(36):5747-5758. doi: 10.1016/j.vaccine.2020.06.065. Epub 2020 Jul 21.

PMID: 32703747 Review.

7.

Primary health care policy and vision for community pharmacy and pharmacists in Australia.

Dineen-Griffin S, Benrimoj SI, Garcia-Cardenas V.

Pharm Pract (Granada). 2020 Apr-Jun;18(2):1967. doi: 10.18549/PharmPract.2020.2.1967. Epub 2020 May 15.

PMID: 32477437 Free PMC article.

8.

Vaccine Safety: Myths and Misinformation.

Geoghegan S, O'Callaghan KP, Offit PA.

Front Microbiol. 2020 Mar 17;11:372. doi: 10.3389/fmicb.2020.00372. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32256465 Free PMC article. Review.

9.

The economic and public health impact of influenza vaccinations: contributions of Swiss pharmacies in the 2016/17 and 2017/18 influenza seasons and implications for vaccination policy.

Brunner I, Schmedders K, Wolfensberger A, Schreiber PW, Kuster SP.

Swiss Med Wkly. 2019 Dec 17;149(51-52). doi: 10.4414/smw.2019.20161. eCollection 2019 Dec 16.

PMID: 32227800

10.

Interim 2019/20 influenza vaccine effectiveness: six European studies, September 2019 to January 2020.

Rose A, Kissling E, Emborg HD, Larrauri A, McMenamin J, Pozo F, Trebbien R, Mazagatos C, Whitaker H, Valenciano M; European IVE group.

Euro Surveill. 2020 Mar;25(10):2000153. doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2020.25.10.2000153.

PMID: 32183932 Free PMC article.

Updates in the Treatment of Ulcerative Colitis and Crohn’s Disease

• Review latest treatment guidelines/therapy for ulcerative colitis
• Review latest treatment guidelines/therapy for Crohn’s disease

1.

Development of a Software for Treat-To-Target Strategy Implementation and Increasing Quality of Life in Patients with Inflammatory Bowel Disease.

Popa DE, Manea NC, Gheonea DI, PÎrlog MC.

Curr Health Sci J. 2020 Apr-Jun;46(2):103-110. doi: 10.12865/CHSJ.46.02.01. Epub 2020 Jun 30.

PMID: 32874680 Free PMC article.

2.

Patients' perspectives on smoking and inflammatory bowel disease: An online survey in collaboration with European Federation of Crohn's and Ulcerative Colitis Associations.

Le Berre C, Loy L, Lönnfors S, Avedano L, Piovani D.

World J Gastroenterol. 2020 Aug 7;26(29):4343-4355. doi: 10.3748/wjg.v26.i29.4343.

PMID: 32848338 Free PMC article.

3.

Efficacy and safety of vedolizumab in elderly patients with inflammatory bowel disease: a matched case-control study.

Shashi P, Gopalakrishnan D, Parikh MP, Shen B, Kochhar G.

Gastroenterol Rep (Oxf). 2019 Sep 17;8(4):306-311. doi: 10.1093/gastro/goz041. eCollection 2020 Aug.

PMID: 32843978 Free PMC article.

4.

Dermatological Manifestations in Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease.

Diaconescu S, Strat S, Balan GG, Anton C, Stefanescu G, Ioniuc I, Stanescu AMA.

Medicina (Kaunas). 2020 Aug 23;56(9):E425. doi: 10.3390/medicina56090425.

PMID: 32842528 Review.

5.

Recommendations of the Spanish Working Group on Crohn's Disease and Ulcerative Colitis (GETECCU) on screening and treatment of tuberculosis infection in patients with inflammatory bowel disease.

Riestra S, Taxonera C, Zabana Y, Carpio D, Beltrán B, Mañosa M, Gutiérrez A, Barreiro-de Acosta M.

Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2020 Aug 19:S0210-5705(20)30217-X. doi: 10.1016/j.gastrohep.2020.04.006. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32828562 English, Spanish.

6.

Tests that now deserve to be more widely adopted in IBD clinical practice.

Labarile N, Ghosh S, Ng SC, Walters J, Iacucci M.

Therap Adv Gastroenterol. 2020 Jul 27;13:1756284820944088. doi: 10.1177/1756284820944088. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32782481 Free PMC article. Review.

7.

Functional Molecular Network Analysis Enables Prediction of Response to Vedolizumab Therapy in Anti-TNF Refractory IBD Patients.

Breidert M, Eftekhari P, Louis F, Rotoiu C, Rath T, Neurath MF, Atreya R.

Crohns Colitis 360. 2020 Apr;2(2):otaa037. doi: 10.1093/crocol/otaa037. Epub 2020 May 24.

PMID: 32776006 Free PMC article.

8.

The Impact of SARS-CoV-2 on Inflammatory Bowel Disease.

Estevinho MM, Magro F.

GE Port J Gastroenterol. 2020 Jul;27(4):227-229. doi: 10.1159/000508114. Epub 2020 May 5.

PMID: 32775543 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

9.

The Use of Curcumin as a Complementary Therapy in Ulcerative Colitis: A Systematic Review of Randomized Controlled Clinical Trials.

Coelho MR, Romi MD, Ferreira DMTP, Zaltman C, Soares-Mota M.

Nutrients. 2020 Jul 31;12(8):E2296. doi: 10.3390/nu12082296.

PMID: 32751776 Free PMC article. Review.

10.

Serum Cholinesterases, a Novel Marker of Clinical Activity in Inflammatory Bowel Disease: A Retrospective Case-Control Study.

Shao X, Yang L, Hu K, Shen R, Ye Q, Yuan X, Zhao Q, Shen J.

Mediators Inflamm. 2020 Jul 14;2020:4694090. doi: 10.1155/2020/4694090. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32733165 Free PMC article.

The Red Face: When it’s More Than a Blush

• Discuss how to evaluate a patient with a red face
• Identify ways to better manage patients with a red face

1.

Clinical characteristics and prognostic analysis of Chinese dermatomyositis patients with malignancies.

Shao C, Li S, Sun Y, Zhang Y, Xu K, Zhang X, Huang H.

Medicine (Baltimore). 2020 Aug 21;99(34):e21899. doi: 10.1097/MD.0000000000021899.

PMID: 32846853 Free PMC article.

2.

Next-generation sequencing technology for detecting pulmonary fungal infection in bronchoalveolar lavage fluid of a patient with dermatomyositis: a case report and literature review.

Zhang K, Yu C, Li Y, Wang Y.

BMC Infect Dis. 2020 Aug 17;20(1):608. doi: 10.1186/s12879-020-05341-8.

PMID: 32807082 Free PMC article.

3.

Neonatal lupus erythematosus.

Liu W, Ma DL.

CMAJ. 2020 Feb 18;192(7):E163. doi: 10.1503/cmaj.191172.

PMID: 32071108 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

4.

Distinct dermatomyositis populations are detected with different autoantibody assay platforms.

Fiorentino DF, Gutierrez-Alamillo L, Hines D, Yang Q, Casciola-Rosen L.

Clin Exp Rheumatol. 2019 Nov-Dec;37(6):1048-1051. Epub 2019 Jul 19.

PMID: 31376258

5.

Serum KL-6 level is a prognostic marker in patients with anti-MDA5 antibody-positive dermatomyositis associated with interstitial lung disease.

Ye Y, Fu Q, Wang R, Guo Q, Bao C.

J Clin Lab Anal. 2019 Oct;33(8):e22978. doi: 10.1002/jcla.22978. Epub 2019 Jul 13.

PMID: 31301087 Free PMC article.

6.

Lichenoid pseudovesicular papular eruption on nose: A papular facial dermatosis probably related to actinic lichen nitidus or micropapular polymorphous light eruption.

Singh S, Singh A, Mallick S, Arava S, Ramam M.

Indian J Dermatol Venereol Leprol. 2019 Nov-Dec;85(6):597-604. doi: 10.4103/ijdvl.IJDVL_347_18.

PMID: 31293275

7.

Idiopathic Facial Aseptic Granuloma: Updated Review of Diagnostic and Therapeutic Difficulties.

Hasbún Z C, Ogueta C I, Dossi C T, Wortsman X.

Actas Dermosifiliogr. 2019 Oct;110(8):637-641. doi: 10.1016/j.ad.2019.01.005. Epub 2019 Feb 25.

PMID: 30819406 Review. English, Spanish.

Management of Acute Pain: Common Clinical Situations

• Evaluate the extent of narcotic prescribing in areas beyond primary care
• Appreciate the role early narcotic prescribing has on extended use of opiates
• Learn alternative management techniques to minimize use of narcotics in common clinical situations
• Study approaches to evaluation and management of many acute pain conditions.

1.

The Advantage of Implementation of Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) in Acute Pain Management During Elective Cesarean Delivery: A Prospective Randomized Controlled Trial.

Pan J, Hei Z, Li L, Zhu D, Hou H, Wu H, Gong C, Zhou S.

Ther Clin Risk Manag. 2020 May 4;16:369-378. doi: 10.2147/TCRM.S244039. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32440135 Free PMC article.

2.

Ketamine as Adjuvant for Acute Pain Management.

Imani F, Varrassi G.

Anesth Pain Med. 2019 Dec 29;9(6):e100178. doi: 10.5812/aapm.100178. eCollection 2019 Dec.

PMID: 32280623 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

3.

A practical guide to acute pain management in children.

Gai N, Naser B, Hanley J, Peliowski A, Hayes J, Aoyama K.

J Anesth. 2020 Jun;34(3):421-433. doi: 10.1007/s00540-020-02767-x. Epub 2020 Mar 31.

PMID: 32236681 Free PMC article. Review.

4.

Efficacy of Dronabinol for Acute Pain Management in Adults with Traumatic Injury: Study Protocol of A Randomized Controlled Trial.

Swartwood C, Salottolo K, Madayag R, Bar-Or D.

Brain Sci. 2020 Mar 12;10(3):161. doi: 10.3390/brainsci10030161.

PMID: 32178232 Free PMC article.

5.

Acute pain management in children: a survey of Italian pediatricians.

Marseglia GL, Alessio M, Da Dalt L, Giuliano M, Ravelli A, Marchisio P.

Ital J Pediatr. 2019 Dec 3;45(1):156. doi: 10.1186/s13052-019-0754-3.

PMID: 31796092 Free PMC article.

6.

High Frequency, Low Background Rate Extrapleural Programmed Intermittent Bolus Ropivacaine Provides Superior Analgesia Compared with Continuous Infusion for Acute Pain Management Following Thoracic Surgery: A Retrospective Cohort Study.

Bishop B, Pearce B, Willshire L, Kilpin M, Howard W, Weinberg L, Tan C.

Anesth Pain Med. 2019 Oct 9;9(5):e97052. doi: 10.5812/aapm.97052. eCollection 2019 Oct.

PMID: 31903338 Free PMC article.