Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Consumer Health Info in Other Languages: Home

American Sign Language, Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, French to name a few

Laupus Hours

An image of the outside of the library building

Laupus Library Regular Hours

Mon-Thurs              7:30am-12:00am
Friday                       7:30am - 8:00pm
Saturday                  9:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday                    Noon - 12:00am
 

Laupus Library Summer Hours
Mon-Thurs              7:30am - 10:00pm
Friday                       7:30am - 8:00pm
Saturday                  9:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday                    Noon - 10:00pm

Laupus Computer Lab

The Computer Lab provides many services including an equipment loan programposter printing, and access to special software programs.

Resources for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students

  • College Advice for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students, from their website: Career Paths, Accessibility Tips and Resources for Success at School: Access to higher education is vital for the success of people who have experienced hearing loss. According to the non-profit Deaf to Work, there are 9 million deaf or hard of hearing individuals in the U.S. and 19 percent are underemployed. For those interested in using higher education as a career stepping stone, there are support systems available to make college a more familiar, welcoming and accessible place for deaf or hard of hearing students. Continue reading for college and career advice created specifically for aspiring students who are deaf or hard of hearing, no matter where they are on their journey to a degree or career.
  • Supporting Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students, from their website: Students with hearing disabilities face unique challenges inside the classroom. Many common learning modes that people take for granted — lectures, discussion groups, and even one-on-one conversations — can be a struggle for those who have any level of hearing difficulty. However, that doesn’t mean a college degree is out of reach. Today’s wide range of tools, devices, and systems can help students who are deaf or hard of hearing thrive in an educational setting. This guide focuses on those resources, tech tools and expert tips that students of all ages can use achieve academic success.

Consumer Health Info in Other Languages

  • DeafMD:  http://deafhealth.org/.  Health information in American Sign Language and a directory of deaf-friendly physicians.
  • EthnoMed:  https://ethnomed.org/.  Health information for ethnic groups residing in the US.  Heavy emphasis on Asian populations.
  • Health Canada:  http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/index-eng.php.  Canadian website with health information in English and French.
  • Health Information Translations: https://www.healthinfotranslations.org/.  State of Ohio translation of health information and health topics into 20 other languages other than English.
  • Healthy Roads Media:  https://www.store.healthyroadsmedia.org/.  Hundreds of videos on a myriad of common health topics.  Also includes subscription service to stream videos in physician practices.
  • MedlinePlus: https://medlineplus.gov/.  Tremendous website with consumer health information with hundreds of topics, a dictionary, medical encyclopedia, videos, over-the-counter medications, prescription medications.  Also has an extensive list of topics in Spanish and other languages.
  • Refugee Health Information Network: https://healthreach.nlm.nih.gov/.  Health information in English and a host of other languages—Spanish, Russian, Vietnamese to name a few.
  • US Dept of Health & Human Services (HHS), Outreach Activities & Resources: https://www.sis.nlm.nih.gov/outreach.html.  Includes information on American Indian & Alaska Native Health, K-12 resources, environmental health, HIV/AIDS, ToxTown and others.
  • SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages:  http://spiral.tufts.edu/.   Cambodian Khmer, Chinese, English, Hmong, Japanese, Korean, Laotian Lao, Thai, and Vietnamese.  From Tufts University, Medford & Boston, MA.

Source:  Wood, M. S. (2016). Consumer health information services and programs: best practices. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield.

Consumer Health Websites

  • American Academy of Family Physicians:  http://www.aafp.org/patient-care.html.  Free good, quality consumer health sponsored by the leading association of Family Physicians.  Easily searchable.
  • MedlinePlus Consumer Health Information:  https://medlineplus.gov/.  Free consumer health information on hundreds of topics, in more than 20 languages, wth updates added daily.
  • PubMed Health:   http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/.  Free website sponsored by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM). "PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions."

Your Librarian

Jeff Coghill's picture
Jeff Coghill
Contact:
600 Moye Blvd.
Laupus Library
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27834
252-744-2066
Subjects:Eastern AHEC

Librarian

Roger Russell's picture
Roger Russell
Contact:
2536 Laupus Library

Health Sciences Bldg.

252-744-3215

Ask a Librarian

Chat with a librarian is available 9-5 Monday-Saturday.

Need to contact a librarian? Click here!

Call us:

1-888-820-0522 (toll free)

252-744-2230

Or email us:

laupuslibrary@ecu.edu