Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020 Trauma Symposium Current Trends in Trauma Care: Conference Topics

October 23, 2020

Conference Brochure

                                                                                                                                       

The Neurobiology of Stress and the Science of Connection

• Knowledge of Adverse Childhood Experiences Study
• Compare and contrast the differences between Trauma and Stress
• Describe the effects of trauma and stress on the body and the brain
• Examine how the brain can be rewired
• List specific strategies to reset the nervous system

1.

Comparison of social supports for geriatric patients admitted to emergency department for trauma and medical reasons.

Safak T, Emektar E, Safak Y, Kan E, Corbacioglu SK, Cevik Y.

Turk J Emerg Med. 2019 Apr 29;19(3):96-99. doi: 10.1016/j.tjem.2019.04.002. eCollection 2019 Jul.

PMID: 31321341 Free PMC article.

2.

Early Screening for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder and Depression Among Injured Emergency Department Patients: A Feasibility Study.

Jaramillo S, Suffoletto B, Callaway C, Pacella-LaBarbara M.

Acad Emerg Med. 2019 Nov;26(11):1232-1244. doi: 10.1111/acem.13816. Epub 2019 Jul 14.

PMID: 31179590 Free PMC article. Clinical Trial.

3.

Sleep and intrusive memories immediately after a traumatic event in emergency department patients.

Porcheret K, Iyadurai L, Bonsall MB, Goodwin GM, Beer SA, Darwent M, Holmes EA.

Sleep. 2020 Aug 12;43(8):zsaa033. doi: 10.1093/sleep/zsaa033.

PMID: 32133531 Free PMC article.

4.

Association of the Trauma of Hospitalization With 30-Day Readmission or Emergency Department Visit.

Rawal S, Kwan JL, Razak F, Detsky AS, Guo Y, Lapointe-Shaw L, Tang T, Weinerman A, Laupacis A, Subramanian SV, Verma AA.

JAMA Intern Med. 2019 Jan 1;179(1):38-45. doi: 10.1001/jamainternmed.2018.5100.

PMID: 30508018 Free PMC article.

5.

Prevalence of post-traumatic stress disorder, acute stress disorder and depression following violence related injury treated at the emergency department: a systematic review.

Ophuis RH, Olij BF, Polinder S, Haagsma JA.

BMC Psychiatry. 2018 Sep 25;18(1):311. doi: 10.1186/s12888-018-1890-9.

PMID: 30253782 Free PMC article.

6.

Screening for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in a Civilian Emergency Department Population with Traumatic Brain Injury.

Haarbauer-Krupa J, Taylor CA, Yue JK, Winkler EA, Pirracchio R, Cooper SR, Burke JF, Stein MB, Manley GT.

J Neurotrauma. 2017 Jan 1;34(1):50-58. doi: 10.1089/neu.2015.4158. Epub 2016 Jun 10.

PMID: 26936513 Free PMC article. Clinical Trial.

7.

Analysis of the incidence of postintubation injuries in patients intubated in the prehospital or early hospital conditions of the hospital emergency department and the intensive care unit.

Cierniak M, Timler D, Sobczak R, Wieczorek A, Sekalski P, Borkowska N, Gaszynski T.

Ther Clin Risk Manag. 2015 Oct 1;11:1489-96. doi: 10.2147/TCRM.S90181. eCollection 2015.

PMID: 26491335 Free PMC article.

1.

Drinking and Intimate Partner Violence Severity Levels Among U.S. Ethnic Groups in an Urban Emergency Department.

Caetano R, Cunradi CB, Alter HJ, Mair C, Yau RK.

Acad Emerg Med. 2019 Aug;26(8):897-907. doi: 10.1111/acem.13706. Epub 2019 Mar 7.

PMID: 30706610 Free PMC article.

2.

Co-Occurrence of Multiple Risk Factors and Intimate Partner Violence in an Urban Emergency Department.

Caetano R, Cunradi CB, Alter HJ, Mair C.

West J Emerg Med. 2020 Feb 21;21(2):282-290. doi: 10.5811/westjem.2019.10.44190.

PMID: 32191185 Free PMC article.

3.

Experience of emergency department use among persons with a history of adverse childhood experiences.

Purkey E, Davison C, MacKenzie M, Beckett T, Korpal D, Soucie K, Bartels S.

BMC Health Serv Res. 2020 May 24;20(1):455. doi: 10.1186/s12913-020-05291-6.

PMID: 32448175 Free PMC article.

Firearm Injury Prevention: An Update

• Review the status of the gun violence epidemic including effects of current events
• Describe recent additions to the literature on firearm injury risk factors
• Discuss firearm injury prevention strategies

1.

Suicide Screening and Prevention.

O'Rourke MC, Jamil RT, Siddiqui W.

2020 Apr 12. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2020 Jan–.

PMID: 30285348 Free Books & Documents. Review.

2.

A multi-state examination of the victims of fatal adolescent intimate partner violence, 2011-2015.

Bush AM.

J Inj Violence Res. 2020 Jan;12(1):73-83. doi: 10.5249/jivr.v12i1.1197. Epub 2019 Dec 18.

PMID: 31849365 Free PMC article.

3.

Factors affecting mortality in traumatic diaphragm ruptures.

Tokgöz S, Akkoca M, Uçar Y, Yilmaz KB, Sevim Ö, Gündo─čan G.

Ulus Travma Acil Cerrahi Derg. 2019 Oct;25(6):567-574. doi: 10.14744/tjtes.2019.58133.

PMID: 31701506 English.

4.

A scoping review of patterns, motives, and risk and protective factors for adolescent firearm carriage.

Oliphant SN, Mouch CA, Rowhani-Rahbar A, Hargarten S, Jay J, Hemenway D, Zimmerman M, Carter PM; FACTS Consortium.

J Behav Med. 2019 Aug;42(4):763-810. doi: 10.1007/s10865-019-00048-x. Epub 2019 Aug 1.

PMID: 31367939 Free PMC article. Review.

5.

The Firearm Safety Among Children and Teens (FACTS) Consortium: defining the current state of the science on pediatric firearm injury prevention.

Cunningham RM, Carter PM, Zimmerman M.

J Behav Med. 2019 Aug;42(4):702-705. doi: 10.1007/s10865-019-00077-6. Epub 2019 Aug 1.

PMID: 31367935 Free PMC article. Review.

6.

An educational intervention for medical students to improve self-efficacy in firearm injury prevention counseling.

Kwong JZ, Gray JM, Rein L, Liu Y, Melzer-Lange MD.

Inj Epidemiol. 2019 May 29;6(Suppl 1):27. doi: 10.1186/s40621-019-0201-3. eCollection 2019.

PMID: 31333993 Free PMC article.

7.

Risk of 90-day readmission in patients after firearm injury hospitalization: a nationally representative retrospective cohort study.

Kalesan B, Zuo Y, Vasan RS, Galea S.

J Inj Violence Res. 2019 Jan;11(1):65-80. doi: 10.5249/jivr.v11i1.979. Epub 2019 Jan 28.

PMID: 30686818 Free PMC article.

8.

Readmission risk and costs of firearm injuries in the United States, 2010-2015.

Spitzer SA, Vail D, Tennakoon L, Rajasingh C, Spain DA, Weiser TG.

PLoS One. 2019 Jan 24;14(1):e0209896. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0209896. eCollection 2019.

PMID: 30677032 Free PMC article.

9.

A Cross-Sectional Study of Firearm Injuries in Emergency Department Patients.

de Anda H, Dibble T, Schlaepfer C, Foraker R, Mueller K.

Mo Med. 2018 Sep-Oct;115(5):456-462.

PMID: 30385996 Free PMC article. Clinical Trial.

10.

What have we learned from the time trend of mass shootings in the U.S.?

Lin PI, Fei L, Barzman D, Hossain M.

PLoS One. 2018 Oct 18;13(10):e0204722. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0204722. eCollection 2018.

PMID: 30335790 Free PMC article.

Whole Blood in EMS: A Year in Review

• Review the pathophysiology of hemorrhagic shock, and the benefits to using whole blood over crystalloid therapy
• Describe the requirements and system design for implementing whole blood in ground-based community EMS systems
• Describe the indications, contraindications, risks and benefits to use of whole blood in ground-based community EMS systems

1.

Hemorrhagic Shock.

Hooper N, Armstrong TJ.

2020 Jul 13. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2020 Jan–.

PMID: 29262047 Free Books & Documents. Review.

2.

Addition of terlipressin to initial volume resuscitation in a pediatric model of hemorrhagic shock improves hemodynamics and cerebral perfusion.

Gil-Anton J, Mielgo VE, Rey-Santano C, Galbarriatu L, Santos C, Unceta M, López-Fernández Y, Redondo S, Morteruel E.

PLoS One. 2020 Jul 2;15(7):e0235084. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0235084. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32614837 Free PMC article.

3.

Atypical presentation of hemorrhagic shock in pregnancy: a case highlighting the developing field of emergency medicine in Israel.

Berzon B, Gleenberg M, Offenbacher J, West D.

BMC Emerg Med. 2019 Nov 21;19(1):70. doi: 10.1186/s12873-019-0272-z.

PMID: 31752688 Free PMC article.

4.

Resuscitative endovascular balloon occlusion of the aorta performed by emergency physicians for traumatic hemorrhagic shock: a case series from Japanese emergency rooms.

Sato R, Kuriyama A, Takaesu R, Miyamae N, Iwanaga W, Tokuda H, Umemura T.

Crit Care. 2018 Apr 21;22(1):103. doi: 10.1186/s13054-018-2032-y.

PMID: 29678197 Free PMC article.

5.

Significance of oxygen free radicals in the pathophysiology of hemorrhagic shock - A protocol.

Premaratne S, Amaratunga DT, Mensah FE, McNamara JJ.

Int J Surg Protoc. 2018 Apr 17;9:15-19. doi: 10.1016/j.isjp.2018.04.002. eCollection 2018.

PMID: 31851733 Free PMC article.

1.

Use of Uncrossmatched Cold-Stored Whole Blood in Injured Children With Hemorrhagic Shock.

Leeper CM, Yazer MH, Cladis FP, Saladino R, Triulzi DJ, Gaines BA.

JAMA Pediatr. 2018 May 1;172(5):491-492. doi: 10.1001/jamapediatrics.2017.5238.

PMID: 29554175 Free PMC article.

2.

Low rates of antibiotic resistance and infectious mortality in a cohort of high-risk hematology patients: A single center, retrospective analysis of blood stream infection.

Conn JR, Catchpoole EM, Runnegar N, Mapp SJ, Markey KA.

PLoS One. 2017 May 19;12(5):e0178059. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0178059. eCollection 2017.

PMID: 28542412 Free PMC article. Clinical Trial.

3.

Comparison of Result Times Between Urine and Whole Blood Point-of-care Pregnancy Testing.

Gottlieb M, Wnek K, Moskoff J, Christian E, Bailitz J.

West J Emerg Med. 2016 Jul;17(4):449-53. doi: 10.5811/westjem.2016.5.29989. Epub 2016 Jun 22.

PMID: 27429695 Free PMC article. Clinical Trial.

4.

Prediction of Massive Transfusion in Trauma Patients with Shock Index, Modified Shock Index, and Age Shock Index.

Rau CS, Wu SC, Kuo SC, Pao-Jen K, Shiun-Yuan H, Chen YC, Hsieh HY, Hsieh CH, Liu HT.

Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2016 Jul 5;13(7):683. doi: 10.3390/ijerph13070683.

PMID: 27399737 Free PMC article.

5.

Progress Toward Strengthening National Blood Transfusion Services - 14 Countries, 2011-2014.

Chevalier MS, Kuehnert M, Basavaraju SV, Bjork A, Pitman JP.

MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep. 2016 Feb 12;65(5):115-9. doi: 10.15585/mmwr.mm6505a4.

PMID: 26866413