Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020 Eastern Regional Renal Conference: Conference Topics

October 22, 2020

Conference Brochure

                                                                                                                                       

Spectrum of Kidney Disease

1.

Identification of hub genes in diabetic kidney disease via multiple-microarray analysis.

Zhang Y, Li W, Zhou Y.

Ann Transl Med. 2020 Aug;8(16):997. doi: 10.21037/atm-20-5171.

PMID: 32953797 Free PMC article.

2.

Improving Sexual Function in People With Chronic Kidney Disease: A Narrative Review of an Unmet Need in Nephrology Research.

Harrison TG, Skrtic M, Verdin NE, Lanktree MB, Elliott MJ.

Can J Kidney Health Dis. 2020 Sep 4;7:2054358120952202. doi: 10.1177/2054358120952202. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32953127 Free PMC article. Review.

3.

A Provincial Survey of the Contemporary Management of Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease.

Yi TW, Levin A, Bevilacqua M, Canney M.

Can J Kidney Health Dis. 2020 Sep 3;7:2054358120948294. doi: 10.1177/2054358120948294. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32953126 Free PMC article.

4.

Mitochondria-Associated Endoplasmic Reticulum Membranes (MAMs) and Their Prospective Roles in Kidney Disease.

Gao P, Yang W, Sun L.

Oxid Med Cell Longev. 2020 Sep 3;2020:3120539. doi: 10.1155/2020/3120539. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 32952849 Free PMC article.

5.

Association of Age With Risk of Kidney Failure in Adults With Stage IV Chronic Kidney Disease in Canada.

Ravani P, Quinn R, Fiocco M, Liu P, Al-Wahsh H, Lam N, Hemmelgarn BR, Manns BJ, James MT, Joanette Y, Tonelli M.

JAMA Netw Open. 2020 Sep 1;3(9):e2017150. doi: 10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2020.17150.

PMID: 32945876

6.

How Useful Is an Age-Neutral Model of Chronic Kidney Disease?

O'Hare AM.

JAMA Netw Open. 2020 Sep 1;3(9):e2017592. doi: 10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2020.17592.

PMID: 32945870 No abstract available.

7.

Neighborhood context and kidney disease in Philadelphia.

Boyle SM, Zhao Y, Chou E, Moore K, Harhay MN.

SSM Popul Health. 2020 Aug 17;12:100646. doi: 10.1016/j.ssmph.2020.100646. eCollection 2020 Dec.

PMID: 32939392 Free PMC article.

8.

The effect of hepcidin on components of metabolic syndrome in chronic kidney disease: a cross-sectional study.

Bek SG, Üstüner B, Eren N, Sentürk Z, Gönüllü BK.

Rev Assoc Med Bras (1992). 2020 Aug;66(8):1100-1107. doi: 10.1590/1806-9282.66.8.1100.

PMID: 32935805

9.

Chronic Kidney Disease in Iran: First Report of the National Registry in Children and Adolescences.

Ataei N, Madani A, Esfahani ST, Otoukesh H, Hooman N, Hoseini R, Fazel M, Derakhshan A, Gheissari A, Sorkhi H, Abbasi A, Fahimi D, Ghane Sharbaf F, Mortazavi F, Falakaflaki B, Nikibakhsh AA, Sadeghi Bojd S, Hosseini Tabatabaei SMT, Ghasemi K, Ahmadzadeh A, Yousefichaijan P, Safaei Asl A, Safaeian B, Khazaei S, Hejazipour L, Seyed Zadeh A, Ataei F.

Urol J. 2020 Sep 13. doi: 10.22037/uj.v16i7.5759. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32920816

10.

Evidence in chronic kidney disease-mineral and bone disorder guidelines: is it time to treat or time to wait?

Bover J, Ureña-Torres P, Mateu S, DaSilva I, Gràcia S, Sánchez-Baya M, Arana C, Fayos L, Guirado L, Cozzolino M.

Clin Kidney J. 2020 Jan 25;13(4):513-521. doi: 10.1093/ckj/sfz187. eCollection 2020 Aug.

PMID: 32905295 Free PMC article. Review.

Acute Kidney Injury

1.

Identification of a New Complement Factor H Mutation in a Patient With Pregnancy-Related Acute Kidney Injury.

Santoro D, La Russa A, Toteda G, Perri A, Vizza D, Lupinacci S, Lofaro D, Pellicanò V, Granese R, Versaci A, Siligato R, Piccoli GB, Bonofiglio R.

Kidney Int Rep. 2020 Jul 3;5(9):1603-1607. doi: 10.1016/j.ekir.2020.06.028. eCollection 2020 Sep.

PMID: 32954088 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

2.

Gene expression profiling of sepsis-associated acute kidney injury.

Yang JJ, Wu BB, Han F, Chen JH, Yang Y.

Exp Ther Med. 2020 Nov;20(5):34. doi: 10.3892/etm.2020.9161. Epub 2020 Sep 1.

PMID: 32952625 Free PMC article.

3.

Regional differences in Acute Kidney Injury incidence and mortality in developing countries: recent trends.

Macedo E, Mehta RL.

J Bras Nefrol. 2020 Sep 11:S0101-28002020005032205. doi: 10.1590/2175-8239-JBN-2020-0150. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32926068 English, Portuguese. No abstract available.

4.

Biomarkers of acute kidney injury in patients with nephrotic syndrome.

Tavares MB, Melo CVB, Fernandes PN, Almeida MDCC, Carneiro MFDSM, Santos RFS, Bahiense-Oliveira M, Martinelli R, Dos-Santos WL.

J Bras Nefrol. 2020 Sep 11:S0101-28002020005032202. doi: 10.1590/2175-8239-JBN-2020-0021. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32926065 English, Portuguese.

5.

Evaluation of the prevalence and factors associated with acute kidney injury in a pediatric intensive care unit.

Louzada CF, Ferreira AR.

J Pediatr (Rio J). 2020 Sep 10:S0021-7557(20)30201-1. doi: 10.1016/j.jped.2020.08.003. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32919936

6.

Severe Acute Kidney Injury in Cardiovascular Surgery: Thrombotic Microangiopathy as a Differential Diagnosis to Ischemia Reperfusion Injury. A Retrospective Study.

Grigorescu M, Kamla CE, Wassilowsky D, Joskowiak D, Peterss S, Kemmner S, Pichlmaier M, Hagl C, Fischereder M, Schönermarck U.

J Clin Med. 2020 Sep 8;9(9):E2900. doi: 10.3390/jcm9092900.

PMID: 32911781

7.

COVID-19 and Kidney Injury.

Lynch MR, Tang J.

R I Med J (2013). 2020 Sep 4;103(8):24-28.

PMID: 32900008

8.

Acute kidney injury and kidney replacement therapy in COVID-19: a systematic review and meta-analysis.

Fu EL, Janse RJ, de Jong Y, van der Endt VHW, Milders J, van der Willik EM, de Rooij ENM, Dekkers OM, Rotmans JI, van Diepen M.

Clin Kidney J. 2020 Sep 2;13(4):550-563. doi: 10.1093/ckj/sfaa160. eCollection 2020 Aug.

PMID: 32897278 Free PMC article.

9.

Acute kidney injury in patients with COVID-19: an update on the pathophysiology.

Izzedine H, Jhaveri KD.

Nephrol Dial Transplant. 2020 Sep 5:gfaa184. doi: 10.1093/ndt/gfaa184. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32888298 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

10.

Association between regional economic status and renal recovery of dialysis-requiring acute kidney injury among critically ill patients.

Shiao CC, Chang YH, Yang YF, Lin ET, Pan HC, Chang CH, Huang CT, Kao MT, Chuang TF, Chen YC, Kan WC, Kuo FC, Chen TC, Chen YM, Wu CJ, Liou HH, Lu KC, Wu VC, Chu TS, Wu MS, Wu KD, Fang JT, Huang CC.

Sci Rep. 2020 Sep 3;10(1):14573. doi: 10.1038/s41598-020-71540-7.

PMID: 32884077 Free PMC article.

Pediatric Nephrotic Syndrome

1.

The Application of Inosine 5'-Monophosphate Dehydrogenase Activity Determination in Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells for Monitoring Mycophenolate Mofetil Therapy in Children with Nephrotic Syndrome.

Sobiak J, Jóźwiak A, Wziętek H, Zachwieja J, Ostalska-Nowicka D.

Pharmaceuticals (Basel). 2020 Aug 18;13(8):200. doi: 10.3390/ph13080200.

PMID: 32824803 Free PMC article.

2.

Brazilian Network of Pediatric Nephrotic Syndrome (REBRASNI).

Feltran LS, Watanabe A, Guaragna MS, Machado IC, Casimiro FMS, Neves PDMM, Palma LM, Varela P, Vaisbich MH, Marie SKN, Facincani I, Pesquero JB, Belangero VMS, Sampson MG, Koch Nogueira PC, Onuchic LF.

Kidney Int Rep. 2019 Nov 21;5(3):358-362. doi: 10.1016/j.ekir.2019.11.007. eCollection 2020 Mar.

PMID: 32154457 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

3.

Predicting and Defining Steroid Resistance in Pediatric Nephrotic Syndrome Using Plasma Metabolomics.

Gooding JR, Agrawal S, McRitchie S, Acuff Z, Merchant ML, Klein JB, Smoyer WE, Sumner SJ; Midwest Pediatric Nephrology Consortium.

Kidney Int Rep. 2019 Sep 19;5(1):81-93. doi: 10.1016/j.ekir.2019.09.010. eCollection 2020 Jan.

PMID: 31922063 Free PMC article.

4.

Predicting and Defining Steroid Resistance in Pediatric Nephrotic Syndrome Using Plasma Proteomics.

Agrawal S, Merchant ML, Kino J, Li M, Wilkey DW, Gaweda AE, Brier ME, Chanley MA, Gooding JR, Sumner SJ, Klein JB, Smoyer WE; Midwest Pediatric Nephrology Consortium.

Kidney Int Rep. 2019 Sep 19;5(1):66-80. doi: 10.1016/j.ekir.2019.09.009. eCollection 2020 Jan.

PMID: 31922062 Free PMC article.

5.

Hepatitis B Seroprotection in Pediatric Nephrotic Syndrome.

Neupane N, Krishnamurthy S, Jagadisan B, Dhodapkar R.

Indian Pediatr. 2019 Aug 15;56(8):659-662.

PMID: 31477646

6.

Safety and Efficacy of Pneumococcal Vaccination in Pediatric Nephrotic Syndrome.

Goonewardene ST, Tang C, Tan LT, Chan KG, Lingham P, Lee LH, Goh BH, Pusparajah P.

Front Pediatr. 2019 Aug 13;7:339. doi: 10.3389/fped.2019.00339. eCollection 2019.

PMID: 31456997 Free PMC article. Review.

7.

Screening of the LAMB2, WT1, NPHS1, and NPHS2 Genes in Pediatric Nephrotic Syndrome.

Abid A, Shahid S, Shakoor M, Lanewala AA, Hashmi S, Khaliq S.

Front Genet. 2018 Jun 22;9:214. doi: 10.3389/fgene.2018.00214. eCollection 2018.

PMID: 30013592 Free PMC article.

8.

Difficult Renal Pathological Classification in a Case of Pediatric Nephrotic Syndrome.

Yamaguchi H, Shiratori A, Nakagawa T, Kanda K, Hara S, Yoshikawa N, Tanaka R.

Case Rep Nephrol Dial. 2017 Nov 29;7(3):161-166. doi: 10.1159/000484475. eCollection 2017 Sep-Dec.

PMID: 29457021 Free PMC article.

9.

Responsiveness of the PROMIS® measures to changes in disease status among pediatric nephrotic syndrome patients: a Midwest pediatric nephrology consortium study.

Selewski DT, Troost JP, Cummings D, Massengill SF, Gbadegesin RA, Greenbaum LA, Shatat IF, Cai Y, Kapur G, Hebert D, Somers MJ, Trachtman H, Pais P, Seifert ME, Goebel J, Sethna CB, Mahan JD, Gross HE, Herreshoff E, Liu Y, Carlozzi NE, Reeve BB, DeWalt DA, Gipson DS.

Health Qual Life Outcomes. 2017 Aug 23;15(1):166. doi: 10.1186/s12955-017-0737-2.

PMID: 28835233 Free PMC article.

10.

Cytomegalovirus infection can mimic genetic nephrotic syndrome: a case report.

Hogan J, Fila M, Baudouin V, Peuchmaur M, Deschênes G, Niel O.

BMC Nephrol. 2015 Sep 22;16:156. doi: 10.1186/s12882-015-0152-z.

PMID: 26395882 Free PMC article.

Extra! Extra! Renal All About It: Medication Updates

1.

Hemopericardium in a Sirolimus-Treated Renal Transplant Patient.

Groudan K, Sawalha K, Bhat AG, Eltanbedawi A, Ambesh P.

Cureus. 2020 Aug 1;12(8):e9508. doi: 10.7759/cureus.9508.

PMID: 32879829 Free PMC article.

2.

Multidisciplinary, patient-centred approach to improving compliance with venous thromboembolism (VTE) prophylaxis in a district general hospital.

Nana M, Shute C, Williams R, Kokwaro F, Riddick K, Lane H.

BMJ Open Qual. 2020 Jul;9(3):e000680. doi: 10.1136/bmjoq-2019-000680.

PMID: 32718914 Free PMC article.

3.

Management of immunosuppression in kidney transplant recipients with COVID-19 pneumonia: A summary of 41 confirmed cases reported worldwide.

Hu Q, Zhong Z, Xiong Y, Ye S, Wang Y, Ye Q.

Transpl Infect Dis. 2020 Jul 23:e13425. doi: 10.1111/tid.13425. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32702153 Free PMC article.

4.

A Multidisciplinary Approach for Improving Quality of Life and Self-Management in Diabetic Kidney Disease: A Crossover Study.

Helou N, Talhouedec D, Zumstein-Shaha M, Zanchi A.

J Clin Med. 2020 Jul 8;9(7):2160. doi: 10.3390/jcm9072160.

PMID: 32650548 Free PMC article.

5.

Should Pre-Transplant Hemoglobin A1c Be Used to Predict Post-Transplant Compliance in End-Stage Renal Disease Patients Undergoing Kidney Transplantation?

Terranella SL, Poirier J, Chan EY, Hertl M, Olaitan OK.

Ann Transplant. 2020 Jun 26;25:e924061. doi: 10.12659/AOT.924061.

PMID: 32587234 Free PMC article.

6.

Medication burden and inappropriate prescription risk among elderly with advanced chronic kidney disease.

Roux-Marson C, Baranski JB, Fafin C, Exterman G, Vigneau C, Couchoud C, Moranne O, Investigators PSPA.

BMC Geriatr. 2020 Mar 4;20(1):87. doi: 10.1186/s12877-020-1485-4.

PMID: 32131742 Free PMC article.

7.

A Collaborative Medication Review Including Deprescribing for Older Patients in an Emergency Department: A Longitudinal Feasibility Study.

Houlind MB, Andersen AL, Treldal C, Jørgensen LM, Kannegaard PN, Castillo LS, Christensen LD, Tavenier J, Rasmussen LJH, Ankarfeldt MZ, Andersen O, Petersen J.

J Clin Med. 2020 Jan 27;9(2):348. doi: 10.3390/jcm9020348.

PMID: 32012721 Free PMC article.

8.

Concurrent pituitary apoplexy and posterior reversible encephalopathy syndrome in a patient with end-stage renal disease on hemodialysis: A case report.

Lee IH, Kim HK, Ahn DJ.

Medicine (Baltimore). 2020 Jan;99(5):e18987. doi: 10.1097/MD.0000000000018987.

PMID: 32000433 Free PMC article.

9.

Ranolazine Induced Bradycardia, Renal Failure, and Hyperkalemia: A BRASH Syndrome Variant.

Zaidi SAA, Shaikh D, Saad M, Vittorio TJ.

Case Rep Med. 2019 Dec 31;2019:2740617. doi: 10.1155/2019/2740617. eCollection 2019.

PMID: 31975993 Free PMC article.

10.

Medication Adherence, Burden and Health-Related Quality of Life in Adults with Predialysis Chronic Kidney Disease: A Prospective Cohort Study.

Tesfaye WH, McKercher C, Peterson GM, Castelino RL, Jose M, Zaidi STR, Wimmer BC.

Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2020 Jan 6;17(1):371. doi: 10.3390/ijerph17010371.

PMID: 31935851 Free PMC article.

Quick & Kidney Friendly: Dining Out with CKD

1.

Long-Term Effects of Ketoanalogues on Mortality and Renal Outcomes in Advanced Chronic Kidney Disease Patients Receiving a Low-Protein Diet.

Wang YC, Juan SH, Chou CL, Hsieh TC, Wu JL, Fang TC.

Nutrients. 2020 Sep 4;12(9):E2708. doi: 10.3390/nu12092708.

PMID: 32899821

2.

Nutritional Management in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease.

Kim SM, Jung JY.

Korean J Intern Med. 2020 Sep 1. doi: 10.3904/kjim.2020.408. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32872726

3.

24-h Urine Collection: A Relevant Tool in CKD Nutrition Evaluation.

Abdel-Nabey M, Saint-Jacques C, Boffa JJ, Frochot V, Livrozet M, Daudon M, Flamant M, Letavernier E, Haymann JP.

Nutrients. 2020 Aug 27;12(9):E2615. doi: 10.3390/nu12092615.

PMID: 32867232

4.

Creatinine Clearance.

Shahbaz H, Gupta M.

2020 Sep 2. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2020 Jan–.

PMID: 31334948 Free Books & Documents. Review.

5.

Association of Different Estimates of Renal Function With Cardiovascular Mortality and Bleeding in Atrial Fibrillation.

Hijazi Z, Granger CB, Hohnloser SH, Westerbergh J, Lindbäck J, Alexander JH, Keltai M, Parkhomenko A, López-Sendón JL, Lopes RD, Siegbahn A, Wallentin L.

J Am Heart Assoc. 2020 Sep 15;9(18):e017155. doi: 10.1161/JAHA.120.017155. Epub 2020 Aug 31.

PMID: 32865097

6.

Dietary zinc intake and incident chronic kidney disease.

Joo YS, Kim HW, Lee S, Nam KH, Yun HR, Jhee JH, Han SH, Yoo TH, Kang SW, Park JT.

Clin Nutr. 2020 Jul 15:S0261-5614(20)30352-6. doi: 10.1016/j.clnu.2020.07.005. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 32753349

7.

Sodium Intake and Chronic Kidney Disease.

Borrelli S, Provenzano M, Gagliardi I, Ashour M, Liberti ME, De Nicola L, Conte G, Garofalo C, Andreucci M.

Int J Mol Sci. 2020 Jul 3;21(13):4744. doi: 10.3390/ijms21134744.

PMID: 32635265 Free PMC article. Review.

8.

Plant-Dominant Low-Protein Diet for Conservative Management of Chronic Kidney Disease.

Kalantar-Zadeh K, Joshi S, Schlueter R, Cooke J, Brown-Tortorici A, Donnelly M, Schulman S, Lau WL, Rhee CM, Streja E, Tantisattamo E, Ferrey AJ, Hanna R, Chen JLT, Malik S, Nguyen DV, Crowley ST, Kovesdy CP.

Nutrients. 2020 Jun 29;12(7):1931. doi: 10.3390/nu12071931.

PMID: 32610641 Free PMC article. Review.

9.

A Healthy Beverage Score and Risk of Chronic Kidney Disease Progression, Incident Cardiovascular Disease, and All-Cause Mortality in the Chronic Renal Insufficiency Cohort.

Hu EA, Anderson CAM, Crews DC, Mills KT, He J, Shou H, Taliercio JJ, Mohanty MJ, Bhat Z, Coresh J, Appel LJ, Rebholz CM; CRIC Study Investigators.

Curr Dev Nutr. 2020 May 21;4(6):nzaa088. doi: 10.1093/cdn/nzaa088. eCollection 2020 Jun.

PMID: 32551412 Free PMC article.

10.

Prebiotic Therapy with Inulin Associated with Low Protein Diet in Chronic Kidney Disease Patients: Evaluation of Nutritional, Cardiovascular and Psychocognitive Parameters.

Lai S, Mazzaferro S, Muscaritoli M, Mastroluca D, Testorio M, Perrotta A, Esposito Y, Carta M, Campagna L, Di Grado M, Ramaccini C, De Leo S, Galani A, Amabile MI, Molfino A.

Toxins (Basel). 2020 Jun 9;12(6):381. doi: 10.3390/toxins12060381.

PMID: 32526852 Free PMC article.