This is the "Home" page of the "Researching Current Issues in North Carolina" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
East Carolina University

SEARCH ECU Website People GO

BlackBoard
Help Desk
PirateID
Index
Email
OneStop
Calendar
BlackBoard IT Help Desk PirateID Index Email and Phone OneStop Calendar

Researching Current Issues in North Carolina  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2009 URL: http://libguides.ecu.edu/nccurrentissues Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

 

 

The North Carolina Collection provides access to a variety of types of information pertaining to current events or issues in North Carolina. Staff members can assist students in locating information. Additionally, if you need ideas for selecting a topic for a presentation or paper, or need help in using any of the resources listed below, then please ask for assistance at our service desk, call us at (252) 328-0252, or send an e-mail to: nccollection@ecu.edu.

To study a topic such as the controversy concerning coastal development in our state:

Getting started:

Joyner Library's online catalog

This will lead you to books, periodicals, and documents in paper and on microfiche

subject keyword search: coast or beaches North Carolina

North Carolina Periodicals Index

This is an index of nearly fifty periodical pertaining to North Carolina. It can bee accessed from any of the public workstations in the library:

search -- for a keyword, a phrase, or keywords connected by and:

beaches

coast changes

coastal ecology and outer banks

Search full-text newspaper databases

LexisNexis Academic

Newsbank: North Carolina Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus

Other Newspaper Resources

North Carolina Collection Clipping File

Our staff has clipped articles from the Raleigh News and Observer and the Greenville Daily Reflector. We made an effort to clip articles that pertain to important or controversial topics of interest to undergraduate students. Ask for assistance at the Services Desk to find clippings under such headings as: Building laws--Coastal areas; Coastal areas--Population; Land use--Coastal areas--Planning. Clipping file coverage ends with 2005.

LexisNexis Academic and other Legal Materials

General Statues and court cases are available through Joyner Library's Electronic Resource page, click on Legal Research and the either State Codes for Statutes or State Case Law for court cases. For more information see the guide North Carolina Legal Research or contact the staff of the North Carolina Collection.

 

Your Opinion

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


ecu logo
East Carolina University Libraries
Greenville, NC 27858-4353 USA
252.328.6677 | Contact Webmaster
terms of use | Last Updated: 02.06.2013
support ecu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip