General Information
Quick Links
Links to popular research tools.
Introduction

When searching for history of the city or county, locate books and maps through the Joyner Library's online catalog. Some useful general subject keyword searches are:
Greenville North Carolina History
Pitt County North Carolina Description-Views
Greenville North Carolina Biography
Greenville North Carolina Buildings, structures, etc.
Pitt County North Carolina Politics and government
Pitt County North Carolina Social life and customs
- Boccaccio, Mary. Pitt County: Eastern Reflections. Charleston, S.C.: Arcadia, 1998.
NoCar Ref F262.P6 B63 1998; NoCar F264.P6 B63 1998
- Bratton, Mary Jo. Greenville: Heart of the East: an illustrated history. Chatsworth, Calif.: Windsor Publications, 1991.
NoCar Ref F264.G83 B72 1991; NoCar F264.G83 B72 1991
- Cotten, Sallie Southall. Greenville on the Tar. 1906?
NoCar Ref F264.G83 C67x 1906a; NoCar F264.G83 C67x 1906a
- Duncan, John G. Pitt County Potpourri. Greenville, N.C.: East Carolina College, 1966.
NoCar Ref F262.P6 D76x; NoCar F262.P6 D76x 1976; also microfilm
- Illustrated City of Greenville, Pitt County, North Carolina. 1914.
NoCar Ref Oversize F264.G72 I44 1914; NoCar Rare Oversize F264.G72 I44 1914; Solinet Microfilm Reel 7891;
also available online at: http://digital.lib.ecu.edu/exhibits/tobacco/htmlFiles/GVIL1.html
- King, Henry T. Sketches of Pitt County. Greenville: ERA Press, 1976. (Reprint of 1911, with introduction and index.)
NoCar Ref F262.P6 K56 1976; NoCar F262.P6 K56 1976; the 1911 edition is also available online at:
http://digital.lib.ecu.edu/historyfiction/item.aspx?id=kis
- Williams, Thomas A. A Greenville Album: the bicentennial book. Greenville, N.C.: ERA Press, 1974.
NoCar Ref F264.G83 W54; NoCar F264.G83 W54 In this book you will also find: Wiggins, Marguerite. "A Greenville Bibliography."
Architecture North Carolina Greenville History
Land use North Carolina Greenville Planning
Public Schools North Carolina Pitt County
Historic buildings North Carolina Greenville.
- The Architectural Heritage of Greenville, North Carolina. Greenville, N.C.: Greenville Area Preservation Society, 1988.
NoCar Ref NA735.G7 A73x 1988; NoCar NA735.G7 A73x 1988
- Horizons: Greenville's Community Plan. Greenville: the City, 1992.
NoCar Ref HT168.G73 H673 1992
Remember that maps can be very useful and might show where a building, farm, or church was once located. Subject keyword search for : Greenville North Carolina Maps
- Map of Greenville, N.C. 1920; Map of Greenville, N.C. 1930.
Uncataloged. Ask at desk.
- Map of Greenville, N.C. 1955.
NoCar Maps G3904.G8 1955 C57 Ask at desk.
- Map of the City of Greenville 1963.
NoCar Maps G3904.G8 1963 T3 Ask at desk.
- City of Greenville, N.C. 1975.
NoCar Maps G3904.G8 1975 G7
- Fire Insurance Maps from the Sanborn Map Company. Covers Greenville 1885, 1896, 1898, 1900, 1905, 1911, 1916, 1923, 1929
NC Microfilm NoCar Sa156b Reel 15; these maps are also available online from the Digital Sanborn Maps: North Carolina database. Database access is limited to those researcher either working on campus or off campus to those with a Pirate ID and password.
- Garland P. Stout Maps. Stout researched old maps, deeds, and other records and added historical features to current maps. Ask at desk.
Newspapers also contain a wealth of historical information. Subject keyword search: Greenville North Carolina Newspapers. Most are not indexed but the North Carolina Collection has many papers from the eastern part of the state on microfilm. Older newspapers are not available online, though current ones usually are.
- Eastern Reflector, 1887-1910.
NC Microfilm
- King's Weekly, 1895-1902.
NC Microfilm
Telephone
and other directories, too, can provide information on people and
businesses and their location during certain years. Subject keyword search:
Greenville North Carolina Directories.
- Greenville City Directory (1916-17, 1936-present).
NoCar Ref F264.G72 A18x
Finally, you can look for individual people, organizations, or institutions, such as Humber, Robert Lee, 1898-1970; Jarvis Memorial Methodist Church; East Carolina University History
- Bratton, Mary Jo. East Carolina University: the formative years, 1907-1982.
NoCar LD1741.E44 B73 1986
For journal and magazine articles, search the North Carolina Periodicals Index on the North Carolina Collection home page.
Finally,
ask at the desk about the Vertical File. This contains miscellaneous
brochures, reports, and other material that doesn't appear in the
online catalog. You will find here, for example, folders on "Greenville
Cemeteries" and on "Uptown Greenville," which describes redevelopment
of the downtown area. The ECU Manuscripts Collection located in Special Collections on fourth floor
of Joyner Library has additional resources.
Guide developed by Nancy Shires (updated 10/2009)


Loading...
