Charting a Course
Successful research in an interdisciplinary field depends greatly on viewing the problem from various approaches. Maritime Studies includes history, archaeology, geology, biology, chemistry, geography, sociology, engineering, law, and business.
History
Mariner's Mirror is available on CD-ROM at the Reference Desk as well as in print at VK1 M4.
- American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900
- America: History and Life
- Historical Abstracts
- JSTOR
- Neptune's Needle: an interative database of American maritime history
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
- Sanborn Maps North Carolina
- Ships and Seafarers of Atlantic Canada
- Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
Sciences: Biology, Geology, Chemistry and Engineering
- ASFA (Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries AbstractsECU ONLY
- BioOneECU ONLY
- ChemID Plus AdvancedECU ONLY
- Civil Engingeering DatabaseECU ONLY
- GeoScience WorldECU ONLY
Geography, Sociology, and Law
- GeoBaseECU ONLY
- SocINDEX with Full-TextECU ONLY
- Lexis Nexis CongressionalECU ONLY
- Lexis Nexis Academic - Legal ResearchECU ONLY
- AdmiraltyLaw.com (Canadian)
- Admiralty and Maritime Law Guide
- FindLaw - maritime
- GPO AccessThe catalog of government publications.
- Sanborn Maps North CarolinaECU only
Print Journals
Check catalog for print holdings and e-journal portal for electronic holdings.
All Hands VA52 A64 (microfilm)
American Archivist CD3020 A45
American Heritage E171 .A43
American Historical Review E171 .A57
American Neptune V1 A4
Argonauta VK26 A73
Army and navy Chronicle (electronic only)
Bermuda Maritime Museum Quarterly (title changed to Maritimes) VK33 B45 B47
Commandant's Bulletin (title changed to Coast Guard) VG53 C66
International Journal of Maritime History VK20 I57x
Mariner's Mirror VK1 M4
Maritime Life and Traditions V1 M37
Nautical Reseach Journal V1 N27
Naval Aviation News VG53 N38x
Naval Engineer's Journal VM1 A55
Naval Research Reviews V393 R43
Naval War College Review V1 U48
Northern Mariner VK26 N67
Seapower VA49 N28
Shipmate VA 49 S53
Society of Naval Architect's and Marine Engineers VM1 S66
Steamboat Bill VM1 S75
United States Naval Institute Proceedings V1 U8
Warship V765 W35
Warship International V750 W37
Wooden Boat VM320 W66
Archaeology
Full-text for the International Journal of Nautical Archaeology is available for 1995-2003 in Science Direct and 1997 to the present in Wiley InterScience. The International Journal of Historical Archaeology is available through Springer Link 1997 to the present.
- Wiley InterScienceECU ONLY
- Science DirectECU ONLY
- Arts & Humanities Citation IndexECU ONLY
- Applied Science and Technology Full-TextECU ONLY
Business
- ABI/Inform CompleteECU ONLY
- Business Source PremierECU ONLY
Google Scholar
Web-based Journals
- The Rudder (1901)
- The Rudder (1908)
- The Rudder (1922)
- TROZE
- Electronic Journal of International History
- EnterText: an interdisciplinary humanities journal
- Electronic Journal of Australian and New Zealand History
- Military History
- Ultramarine Newsletter
- Anistoriton
- Essays in History
- Journal of Southern Religion



Loading...
