Beacon (Journal of the NC Teachers' Network):
Sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of
Education, this site was designed to serve as a resource for teachers to
assist them in forming lesson plans and developing professionally. The
site includes lessons plans, teaching strategies, research links, and
online courses.
East Carolina University:
This site is the home page for East Carolina University located in
Greenville, North Carolina. Visitors to the site can view information
for future or current students, faculty and staff, alumni, friends, or
parents. They can also search for information on academic programs,
colleges and schools, and sports.
East Carolina University Archives:
The Archives serves as the "depository for university records that are
worthy of permanent retention" to assist ECU in its "historical,
administrative, legal, and records management needs." From the site,
users can look at finding aids, read archival news, and review the
Archives' hours and services.
East Carolinian (East Carolina University):
This is the online edition of the ECU student
newspaper. Users can view the current issue here as well as recent
back issues. The topics covered range from international news to stories
of university interest.
ECU Report Newsletter:
A magazine for friends and alumni of East
Carolina University, the Report is published two to three times a year.
It contains coverage of campus news and events, sports highlights, and
information on ECU projects. Users can view issues of the report dating
from 1996-2001.
Endeavors (Research at UNC-Chapel Hill):
Endeavors is published three times a year by the University of North
Carolina at Chapel Hill and reports on the research conducted by its
students and faculty. Users can view the current issue as well as
searching back issues that date as far back as 1996.
Guide to North Carolina Higher Education Web Sites:
This site lists all the institutions of higher education in North
Carolina and links to their websites. Users can search by University of
North Carolina System, the North Carolina Community College System, or
the North Carolina Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.
Historically Black Colleges and Universities:
This site, maintained by the State Library of North Carolina, provides
capsule descriptions and links to North Carolina's historically black
colleges and universities..
North Carolina Association of Independent Colleges and Universities:
The Association is made up of 36 non-profit,
private colleges in North Carolina. This site provides a directory of
these schools as well as links to information about paying for college,
degrees available, the Independent College Fund, and group
publications. The organization is based in Raleigh, North Carolina.
North Carolina Community College System:
This site serves as the gateway to the institutions that make up the
North Carolina Community College System. Information on the site is
separated into categories for students, news, business, and faculty and
staff.
North Carolina PTA:
The Parent Teacher Association is a national organization with a
commitment to youth services. Local news and links are provided as well
as resources on grant writing, leadership training, and related North
Carolina government and public school information. The state
organization’s office is located in Raleigh, North Carolina.
North Carolina Public School Forum:
Located in Raleigh, North Carolina, the Forum is a non-profit think
tank, which "partners North Carolina business, education, and government
leaders for the improvement of North Carolina public schools." The
site includes news and information on Forum sponsored initiatives.
North Carolina School Report Cards:
This site is the gateway to the "report cards" maintained by the state
for all North Carolina public schools. The "report cards" include such
information as class sizes, student proficiency levels, and teacher
quality. The site includes an easy to use search interface to allow
visitors to quickly find reports for their local schools.
Old Gold and Black (Wake Forest University):
This is the site of the Wake Forest student newspaper. Users can read
current articles, browse back issues, or search for specific articles.
Back issues are available online dating from 1995.
Pieces of Eight (ECU Faculty/Staff Newsletter):
Pieces of Eight is serves as the monthly newspaper for ECU faculty and
staff. Users can view the top stories, past issues, and submit articles
for future publication. Available back issues date back to 2000.
Pitt Community College:
This site serves as the gateway to information about Pitt Community
College. The site is broken up into sections for current and
prospective students, faculty, and alumni. Users can also fill out an
application for PCC online from the site.
Pitt County Schools:
This is the homepage for the Pitt County School System. It contains
news and resources for parents, teachers, and administrators. The site
also serves as the home of the Pitt County Board of Education's web
pages.
Public Schools of North Carolina:
This site, maintained by the North Carolina Department of Public
Instruction and the State board of education, serves as the gateway to
all sub-departments and programs of the two entities. Visitors to the
site can also view North Carolina education news, read reports, and see
the answers to commonly asked questions.
Statistical Abstract of Higher Education:
This site contains a pdf copy of the 2004-2005 Statistical Abstract
of Higher Education report compiled by the University of North Carolina
at Chapel Hill. The report contains information on enrollment numbers
and trends, library resources, and faculty evaluations for the state's
institutions of higher education.
Technician (North Carolina State University):
This is the online edition of the NC State University student
newspaper. Users can view the current issue here as well as recent back
issues. The topics covered range from international news to stories of
university interest.
University of North Carolina System. General OR Transfer:
This is the gateway to information on the North Carolina University
System and its 16 branch campuses. The site offers news and links for
current and prospective students, alumni, parents, faculty, and
administrators. The second link included leads to information
specifically for students who wish to transfer into one of the schools
in the UNC System.