Book and Web Awards:
Sponsored by NC Wise Owl, this page offers links to the home pages
for various awards given to authors of literature for children and young
adults. The awards include the Caldecott Medal, Newberry Medal, and
the North Carolina Children's book Award.
Documenting the American South:
This collection, maintained by the UNC at Chapel Hill Libraries,
contains "primary resources for the study of southern history,
literature, and culture.” The collection includes texts, images, and
audio related to Southern history from the Colonial period through the
early 20th century.
Fiction & Folk Culture. The North Carolina Experience, Beginnings to 1940:
This page is part of the Documenting the American South collection
described above. This part of the collection focuses solely on North
Carolina and its history from the state's beginnings to 1940.
Guide to recent North Carolina Fiction:
Maintained by the UNC at Chapel Hill's North Carolina Collection,
this site is meant to serve as a guide to recently published fiction set
in North Carolina. Users can search the guide several ways, including
sorting the works by author, county, or region.
North Carolina Folklore Society:
This is the home page for the Society, a group which "promotes the
appreciation and study of North Carolina folk life.” From the site,
users can view folklore news, order the NCFS journal, and find
information on becoming a member.
North Carolina Literary Award Winners:
This page, maintained by the UNC at Chapel Hill's North Carolina
Collection, offers a list of North Carolina author awards as well as
their current and past recipients.
North Carolina Literary and Historical Association:
The association, whose past is "interlinked with the state Office
of Archives and History", has a mission of "fostering the interest of
North Carolinians in the state's literature and history." Here users
can view the history of the Association , view literary awards handed
out by the organization, and get membership information.
North Carolina Literary Review:
Published yearly by East Carolina University and the North Carolina
Literary and Historical Association, the Review publishes "poetry,
fiction, and nonfiction by and interviews with North Carolina writers,
and articles and essays about North Carolina writers, literature, and
literary history and culture." From this site users can browse the
content of current and back issues as well as search a simple index of
the work.
North Carolina Poet Laureate:
Sponsored by the North Carolina Arts Council, this page offers a
brief biography and links to the work of the current North Carolina Poet
Laureate, Kathryn Stripling Byer. There are also links to other poetry
resources and North Carolina arts sites.
North Carolina Writers' Network:
Here users can learn about “one of the largest statewide literary
service organizations in the country.” The site includes links to
organizational news and programs, membership information, and links to
both the NC Literary Hall of Fame and the NC Literary Calendar.
Online Resources on Fred Chappell:
This site provides a large list of online resources that focus on the
former North Carolina Poet Laureate. Linked subjects include essays,
poetry, criticism, background, reviews, and awards.
Roberts Collection of North Carolina Fiction- Online:
This page is a collection of links to digitized versions of some of
the works contained in the Roberts Collection of North Carolina
Fiction, housed in the North Carolina Collection at East Carolina
University.
Thomas Wolfe Web Site:
Learn about Thomas Wolfe by reviewing, among other resources, biographical information, personal photos, and issues of the Thomas Wolfe Review.