Carolinas Center for Hospice and End of Life Care:
The center's mission is to "improve hospice, palliative, and end of life care, while promoting recognition of the dying process and death as a natural part of life." The site contains links to Center news, events, and resources concerning end of life care. There is also a search interface to help interested users in locating the nearest hospice facility.
NAMI NC:
The mission of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill is to improve the quality of life for individuals and their families who are coping with mental illness. The site contains links to resources that focus on issues of diagnosis, treatment, and support of the mentally ill.
NC Health Access Coalition Main Page:
Sponsored by the North Carolina Justice Center, this page provides information on Medicaid and NC Health Choice. Users can also review health care related publications, look at public policy, and assess legal assistance options.
NC Health Info:
This site is a joint product of the University of North Carolina and National Library of Medicine. In addition to offering links to health care programs, providers, and services, they also offer access to the MedLine plus medical database.
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics:
An office of the Department of Health and Human Services, the State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for "data collection, health-related research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics." Their site serves as a distribution gateway for studies and statistics that focus on health issues in the state.
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services:
The DHHS is an all-encompassing agency for the protection of public health. Their site allows users to search for the web pages of the divisions that make up this agency and also links to state health news and job opportunities.
North Carolina Division of Environmental Health:
The Division's mission is to promote "the practice of modern environmental health science using technology, rules and public education." The site offers links to environmental health news, laws, and instructional materials and includes a simple to use search interface.
North Carolina Division of Public Health:
The Division's site serves as a gateway to resources that help users find information on health services, statistics, and other health oriented state offices.
North Carolina Healthcare Information and Communications Alliance:
The NCHICA is a non-profit consortium comprised of over 230 organizations that is dedicated to improving health care by advocating the integration of information technology into the health care process. The site contains membership information, news, and an events calendar.