Directory of the State and County Officials in North Carolina:
Maintained
by the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, this
directory contains the contact information for state government agencies
and their employees.
ECU Verona Joyner Langford North Carolina Collection:
Part
of the Joyner Library at East Carolina University, the NCC collects
North Caroliniana from all over the state, but focuses much of its
efforts on the eastern half of the state. From this site users can find
hours and contact information, browse collections, and find links to
useful North Carolina resources.
Institute of Government Electronic Publications:
This
site, maintained by the UNC-School of Government, serves as an
aggregator for works published by the Institute. The site provides
access and ordering information for books, manuals, monographs, and
research reports for the citizens and public officials of
LINC:
This
database, maintained by the North Carolina State Data Center, provides
access to over 1200 data series from state and federal agencies. This
site provides a vast amount of information including the complete 2000
Census, vital statistics, agriculture, education, and business and
industry. For those users unfamiliar with the database and overwhelmed
by the vast amount of information provided, the site offers a number of
tutorials to assist them.
NC WiseOwl:
Sponsored
by the Instructional Technology Division of the North Carolina
Department of Public Instruction, this extremely well designed site
contains a wealth of research information for school aged children as
well as their parents and teachers.
NC WARN (Waste Awareness Reduction Network):
WARN
is a non-profit dedicated to "reducing damage to public health and the
environment caused by radioactive and industrial pollution" through
"sound scientific research, advocacy, and public education and
involvement." On the site visitors can read about North Carolina news,
WARN events and programs, and membership information.
NCChild.org:
North Carolina Center for Public Policy:
The
Center is an independent, nonprofit organization committed to goals of a
better-informed public and more effective and responsive government.
The site includes news, press releases, and a directory of their Board
of Directors and staff.
North Carolina Datanet (Odum Institute for Research in Social Science):
This
group, based at UNC at Chapel Hill, is dedicated to "the cooperative
study of problems in the field of social science." The center offers
services to support the research and training of social science faculty
and graduate students. Visitors to the site can review the services,
programs, and resources this organization offers.
North Carolina Democratic Party:
This
is the official web site for the North Carolina democratic Party. The
site provides information on how to get involved in the Democratic
Party, local information, and the political issues the party supports.
The site also has links to online voter registration. The
organization's headquarters is located in Raleigh, North Carolina.
North Carolina Green Party:
The
Green Party supports "a grassroots democracy, social justice and
equality, non-violence, decentralization, feminism, and various other
progressive ideals." This is the party's official site. on the site,
users can learn more about the group, its activities, and the platform
that it supports.
North Carolina Encyclopedia (State Library):
This
site, maintained by the State Library of North Carolina, provides an
overview of North Carolina people, government, history and resources.
Visitors can find a wealth of basic information about the state here.
North Carolina Government Information Locator Service:
Sponsored
by the Office of State Budget and Management, this site offers easy
access to goverment information via a simple search interface. An
advanced search feature is also available so users can perform a more
targeted search. Click on the “Find NC” logo to begin your search.
North Carolina Home Page: Welcome to North Carolina:
This
site serves as the main gateway to information about North Carolina.
Here visitors can find a wealth of resources about the state including
information for citizens, businesses, and state employees.
North Carolina Public Interest Research Group:
Located
in Raleigh and Chapel Hill, North Carolina, NCPIRG is an advocate for
the public interest. NCPIRG's mission is to "deliver persistent,
result-oriented public interest activism that protects our environment,
encourages a fair, sustainable economy, and fosters responsive,
democratic government." Visitors to the site can view information about
organizational news, projects, and membership.
North Carolina State Board of Elections:
Here
users can check their voter registration, search for their voting
location, read campaign finance reports, and check voting statistics
from around the state. The site also offers links to other state and
federal agencies that deal with elections and voting.
North Carolina Center for Voter Education:
This
organization is a non-profit organization dedicated to "improving the
quality and responsiveness of North Carolina's election system." The
Center hopes to "raise citizen awareness, make the election process more
inclusive, and increase participation in elections by examining North
Carolina's current system of campaign finance and election laws, and by
promoting research and public discussion about the electoral process."
Visitors to the site can view news and publications produced by the
group in a variety of formats.
Office of State Personnel:
This
site serves as a clearinghouse for human resources information for the
state of North Carolina. The system functions through a "partnership
with managers and personnel directors in the agencies, universities and
institutions in the state." Visitors can search state job openings,
review personnel policies, and look for training opportunities. The
site also contains links to resources for current state employees and
human resource professionals.
Organizational Chart of North Carolina State Government:
Maintained
by the Department of the Secretary of State, this site offers an
organizational chart for the state government in pdf format. Other file
offered include a directory of current state and county officials, a
transcription of both the current and 1868 state constitution, and a
list of candidates from the 2004 General Election.
School of Government (UNC-Chapel Hill):
This
is the home page for the School, which is made up of the Institute of
Government and the Master of Public Administration Program at UNC at
Chapel Hill. The site contains resources for current and prospective
students, faculty, and government workers.
T
State Employee Association of North Carolina:
This
is the official home page of the State Employees Association of North
Carolina, dedicated to "the protection and enhancement of the rights and
benefits of state employees." Visitors to the site can view
Association news, keep track of legislative affairs, and find
membership information.
State of North Carolina Summary of Financial Condition:
This
site, maintained by the North Carolina Office of the State Controller,
offers a variety of state financial reports in pdf format.
UNC Chapel Hill North Carolina Collection:
Part
of the UNC at Chapel Hill Library System, the North Carolina Collection
contains gathers artifacts, printed items, and photographs documenting
the history and literature of North Carolina. In addition to reviewing
operating hours and services offered by the NCC, visitors can look at
online resources and peruse their photographic archive, which contains
images from all 100 North Carolina counties.