African American Newspapers in North Carolina:
This list, compiled by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Libraries, lists African American newspapers published in North Carolina
from past and present. The list is organized by city.
Carteret County News-Times (Morehead City):
The News-Times' focus is on local news, especially concerning coastal
life and culture. The online edition is only published Monday,
Wednesday, and Friday.
Charlotte Observer:
The Observer is the major daily paper for Charlotte and the surrounding
area. It covers local, state, and national news. Users can search the
paper's archives for content dating back to 1985.
Daily Reflector (Greenville):
This is the online edition of the Daily Reflector, the daily newspaper
for Greenville/Pitt County and eastern North Carolina. The Reflector
covers national, state, and local news. Users can also search for
stories from recent past issues.
Fayetteville Observer:
The Observer is published daily and covers both regional and national
news. Users can search for stories from the past seven days.
Goldsboro News-Argus:
The News-Argus is published daily and focuses mostly on news from the
Goldsboro/Wayne County area of North Carolina. Users can search for
stories dating back to 2004.
Independent Weekly:
The Independent is the weekly news, arts, and culture paper for the
Raleigh-Durham area. Users can also search the Weekly for past stories.
Kinston Free Press:
The Free Press is published daily and covers local, state, and
national news. Users can search online for stories dating from 2002.
Jacksonville Daily News:
The Daily-News is published daily and covers local, state, and national
news. Users can search online for stories dating back to 2001.
News and Observer (Raleigh):
This is the major daily newspaper for the Raleigh, Durham, Cary, and
Chapel Hill areas of North Carolina. Local and national news is covered
by the paper along with links to other local newspapers. Users can
search for content from the last seven days.
NewsDirectory: North Carolina Daily and Non-Daily Newspapers and Media:
This site allows users to search for online editions of North Carolina
newspapers. The listings include college newspapers and television
stations.
North Carolina College Newspapers:
Maintained by Duke University Libraries, this site provides links to
the online editions of North Carolina college newspapers. Those papers
lacking news are excluded. Newspapers are listed in alphabetical order.
North Carolina Newspapers:
This site, provided by the State Library of North Carolina, serves as a
gateway to their collection of digitized North Carolina newspapers.
The Library has digitized over 3 million newspaper pages from all 100
North Carolina counties. The microfilm is available wither at the State
Library in Raleigh or can be obtained through interlibrary loan. A
guide to the microfilm collection is included on the site.
North Carolina Press Association:
The North Carolina Press Association serves as an advocate for
newspapers and their producers. The Association's home page provides
access to online editions of papers from around the state, newspaper
jobs, and organizational news.
Sun Journal (New Bern):
The Sun-Journal is the daily newspaper serving New Bern and the surrounding area. It covers mostly state and local news. Users can search for past articles on the site.
Wilmington Morning Star:
The Morning Star is the daily newspaper serving New Hanover, Pender,
Brunswick, Duplin, Onslow and Columbus counties. It covers local,
state, and national news. Users can search for past articles on the
site.
Wilson Daily Times:
The Daily times serves as the newspaper for Wilson, North Carolina and
the surrounding area. The paper covers mostly state and local news.
User can search for past articles on the site.