County and City Data Books:
The University of Virginia Library maintains this site that give users access to the electronic versions of County and City Data Books produced in 1988, 1994, and 2000. Information is organized in such a way that users can generate custom reports by choosing from several data subsets.
Directory of State and County Officials of North Carolina:
This downloadable series of lists, provided by the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, contain the contact information for all state and county officials in the state. The files are in pdf format.
Land of Sky Regional Council:
This is the home page for the Land of Sky Regional Council, a local government planning and development organization in Western North Carolina, serving Buncombe, Henderson, Madison, and Transylvania Counties. The site provides links to services and projects from the member counties.
National Association of Counties, North Carolina page:
This site offers access to county demographic information and contact information for county officials for any county in the United States by navigating through a clickable map. The site also offers a less complete sampling of codes and ordinances from counties throughout the nation.
North Carolina Association of County Commissioners:
The homepage of the NCACC contains links to resources for county officials including news, legislative bulletins, and links directly to the home pages of county governments throughout the state.
North Carolina Counties (Institute of Government):
Sponsored by the University of North Carolina School of Government, this site contains links to websites that offer resources for local and regional government; civic organizations; education resources; visitors bureaus; tourism and relocation services; and commercial services.
North Carolina Economic Development System County Profiles:
This site, maintained by the North Carolina Department of Commerce, offers economic profiles for all 100 North Carolina counties. The reports are easily accessed through a clickable map of the state.
North Carolina Photographic Archives:
This site, maintained by the University of North Carolina Libraries, contains photographs from all 100 counties in the state. Comprised of over 5,200 images, the archive's photographs are accessed through either a clickable map or from an alphabetical list of county names.
Triangle J Council of Governments:
This is the homepage of the group, which describes itself as "a voluntary organization of municipal and county governments in North Carolina's Region J (Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange and Wake counties)." The group's mission is to assist the member counties through, among other activities, land-use planning, economic development and emergency medical services support to environmental protection, programs for the aging and information services. The site contains news and links pertaining to the agency's activities and to those of the member counties.