In odd years the legislature's regular session begins in January and usually concludes about six months later. A short session to address budgetary matters convenes in May or June of even years and lasts for about two months. Bills introduced in each house are numbered as they are introduced (e.g., S.B. 1, S.B. 2; H.B.25, H.B. 26). Bill numbering in the short sessions continues the numbering of regular sessions.
- Advance Legislative Service(ALS). Published soon after the close of a legislative session. The ALS includes all laws passed during the session. The Advance Legislative Service is available via LexisNexis Legal Research. Once into the LexisNexis Academic database, choose “State Codes” and then select “North Carolina.” Adjust the pull-down menu to read "North Carolina Advance Legislative Service" before searching. Students, faculty and staff with an Pirate ID and password may gain access from off-campus.
- Session Laws (NoCar Ref KFN7425 A243). 1831/32-. These are the laws and resolutions passed in a given session of the legislature, as well as executive orders issued by the governor, compiled chronologically. Includes indexes by subject and bill number. Session Laws prior to 1831 may be found in the Records of the States of the United States of America[North Carolina] Joyner NC Microforms/Microfilm R245/NC. A Guide to the Microfilm Collection of Early State Records, prepared by William Sumner Jenkins, is located in Joyner Reference (Ref Z1223.5.A1 U47 Guide). The North Carolina portion of this guide has been photocopied and placed in the North Carolina Collection's microfilm room.
- The Colonial and State Records (NoCar Ref F251 .N6 1993) has laws in vols. 23-25 covering the period 1715-1790. Inasmuch as the 1715 compilation drew upon earlier laws that were still in effect at that time, and manuscripts of earlier laws were located in various repositories, the set is as complete as was then possible for the period 1669-1790. Vol. 25 contains Stephen Weeks' index of laws for the period 1669-1790 as well as the captions of the various laws for the period 1669-1790.
- General Statutes (NoCar Ref KFN7430 1943 A2x) The General Statutes are a "codified," or subject, arrangement of the laws of North Carolina. The General Statutes are available via the Internet at the North Carolina General Assembly web site.
- Daily Bulletin (NoCar JK4166 N67).1945-. Published by the School of Government, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, each day of a legislative session, this loose-leaf service lists bills that have been introduced (giving a brief indication of the subject or intent of the legislation) and tracks the status of bills(e.g., referral to committees, ratification.)
- UNC Chapel Hill School of Government This site has a plethora of current information about the goings on in the state legislature including current and archived reports.
- Final Disposition of Bills and Resolutions (NoCar JK4166 .N68x). 1987-. Provides the bill number,short title, latest action, and date of action, in House or Senate bill number order.
- Index of Legislation (NoCar JK4166 .N69x). 1987-. For each session of the legislature, this publication gives bill or resolution status arranged by General Statutes chapter or special category; arranges ratified bills or resolutions by General Statutes chapter or special category; lists the number of each bill or resolution and shows the General Statutes chapter or special category affected; arranges by counties affected all local bills; lists the number of each bill and shows the county affected by it; and arranges in chronological order of introduction all bills and resolutions, giving the session law chapter number or ratified resolution number.
- North Carolina Legislation (NoCar Ref KFN7415 .I53). 1974-. For each session of the legislature, this publication summarizes by major subject (budget, aging, education, etc.) the content of legislation of interest to public officials.
Also available electronically at: http://www.sog.unc.edu/pubs/nclegis/index.html
- House and Senate Journals (NoCar Ref J87 .N81 [House] 1858/59-; NoCar Ref J87 N8 [Senate]). 1850/1851-.Journals contain a daily record of legislative action in each session but do not constitute a record of discussion or debate. Selected House and Senate Journals for years prior to 1850 may be found in the Records of the States of the United States of America [North Carolina] Joyner NC Microforms/Microfilm R245/NC. A Guide to the Microfilm Collection of Early State Records, prepared by William Sumner Jenkins, is located in Joyner Reference (Ref Z1223.5.A1 U47 Guide). The North Carolina portion of this guide has been photocopied and placed in a binder in the North Carolina Collection's microfilm room.
- Article II (NoCar JK4171 A7x).1977/78-. Published by the North Carolina Center for Public Policy Research, this guide to the legislature provides the voting record of legislators on key issues.
- North Carolina General Assembly An excellent starting place for tracking current and recent legislation. Resources include bill status, legislative committee information, and voting records.
North Carolina Administrative Code
- The North Carolina Administrative Code contains regulations adopted by state agencies, often in response to legislation. In such a case the regulations have the force of law. The North Carolina Administrative Code is available online at: http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncadministrativ_/default.htm
- North Carolina Register(NoCar Ref KFN7840 A1 N67x). 1986-. This monthly publication contains executive orders, proposed rules (regulations) of state agencies (to allow for public comment before final adoption) and regulations that have been adopted. Consult the North Carolina Register to see whether changes or additions to regulations have been made in recent months. It is available online at: http://www.ncoah.com/rules/register/