Skip to main content

North Carolina Literature: Selected Sources: Other Resources

Other Resources

Manuscripts
Manuscripts of authors Inglis Fletcher (Manuscript Collection #21) and Ovid Williams Pierce (Manuscript Collection #101) are available in the Special Collections department on fourth floor.  You can limit searches to this department in the online catalog using the collection drop down box and limiting to North Carolina Collection.

Examples of subject keyword searches that can be performed in the library catalog:
  Book; Authors; Name of author (last name first)
 

Maps

Literary Map of North Carolina.  Literature Committee of North Carolina English Teachers Association. 
NoCar Maps Oversize G3901.E65 1950 N6

Malone’s New Literary Map of North Carolina, by E.T. Malone. 
NoCar Maps G3901.E65 1990 M3

Supplement to A Literary Map of North Carolina
NoCar Ref PS266.N8 S96 1972

Examples of subject keyword searches that can be performed in the library catalog: Literary landmarks North Carolina Maps; Authors, American Homes and haunts.
 

Roberts Collection of North Carolina Fiction

The Roberts Collection of North Carolina Fiction is a non-circulating collection of fiction set at least partially in North Carolina from 1734 to the present time.  It contains a very small number of works with poetry or drama also.  Search for titles in the Roberts Collection in the online catalog and ask at the desk for the actual works.  Some early titles in the Roberts Collection are available online through the North Carolina History and Fiction Digital Library.  When you find these titles in the online catalog, a URL with a hotlink is provided.  For example, Basil the Page, a story of the days of Queen Elizabeth, by Grace Witham:  http://digital.lib.ecu.edu/historyfiction/
 

North Carolina Collection Vertical File and Clipping Files

The vertical file consists of miscellaneous materials, such as reports and brochures, on various topics, including the “North Carolina Writers’ Network” and “Wolfe, Thomas,” for example.  Search for these files on the North Carolina Collection home page and ask at the desk for the actual materials.

The clipping file consists of articles selected from local newspapers.   It includes articles on “Edgerton, Clyde” and “Women authors,” for example.  Search for these articles on the North Carolina Collection home page and ask at the desk for the actual articles.