Skip to main content

Guide to Microforms in the North Carolina Collection: Microfilm

Microfilm

Newspapers

The North Carolina Collection contains two types of newspapers on microfilm: Newspapers filmed by the North Carolina Division of Archives and History and newspapers obtained from other sources.

The North Carolina Division of Archives and History series consists of eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century newspapers. Newspapers in the North Carolina Division of Archives and History series are filed by Archives and History call numbers. (83-150)

Newspapers obtained from other sources include newspapers that are currently subscribed to by the North Carolina Collection and early twentieth-century newspapers that have limited publication runs. These newspapers are filed alphabetically by the name of the newspaper. (1-82) Newspapers currently subscribed to are listed below:

Indexes to the News and Observer in various formats cover the period from 1926 to the present. Please ask a librarian for assistance in using them.

A “Guide to North Carolina’s Newspapers on Microfilm,” available in the North Carolina Collection Microfilm Room, contains a complete list of the collection’s newspaper holdings.


Periodicals

The periodicals on microfilm are in alphabetical order by title. (1-82)  Current issues of these titles can be found in the Periodical Reading Area of the North Carolina Collection. Bound and unbound copies of these periodicals can be found in the North Carolina stacks. Microfilm holdings are as follows:



County Records Series

#C.009 - C.079 -- County level records up to the year 1900 for the following counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, and Washington. Consult the guide available in the Microforms Room for detailed listings of each county. (245-259)


U.S. Censuses for North Carolina
Included are population schedules for the years 1790 through 1930. For the years 1850 through 1880, there are special schedules including mortality, slave, agricultural and manufacturing schedules. (186-191) For more information on this topic, please see the guide entitled “Indexes to United States Census Records in the North Carolina Collection.”


Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of North Carolina

The Sanborn Map Company developed their maps to assist insurance companies in determining the risk of fire in cities and towns throughout the country. Today, these maps are useful to understand how a community developed or what the community was like at a particular time. The collection includes maps for many North Carolina cities and towns from the time period 1884 to 1980. The maps show buildings, railroads, streets, bodies of water, and other features. The maps also have a color and symbol code to depict such information as construction material, number of floors, and availability of fire-fighting equipment. To see the list of cities and the dates of the Sanborn Maps, please use the “Guide to the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of North Carolina,” call number Joyner NC Reference G1300.S26 1996 guide. (184)

Theses/Monographs

The theses in the North Carolina Collection include works about North Carolina or written by North Carolinians. Subjects include social, geological, historical, nutritional, and medical studies. The theses are filed in alphabetical order by the author’s last name. (160-166)

Archival Collections


Miscellaneous Films

The miscellaneous films included in the microfilm collection, listed below, are filed by cutter numbers.