Skip to main content

Genealogical Research in the North Carolina Collection: Additional Resources

Newspapers

Use local newspapers to find possible birth and death notices concerning your ancestor in addition to interesting bits of social information not often found in other genealogical sources. The Guide to North Carolina Newspapers on Microfilm in the North Carolina Collection J.Y. Joyner Library is available for reference in print form and via web access. A comprehensive listing of newspapers, the guide is arranged alphabetically by locality. Web access also provides a chronological listing by year. For more information log on to http://www.ecu.edu/cs-lib/ncc/newspapers.cfm.

Newspaper Indexes

Daily Reflector / Eastern Reflector Index  (web resource)
http://www.ecu.edu/cs-lib/ncc/ERindxabt.cfm

Early Public Records

Civil War

African American Ancestry

Bibliography

Web Sites

For quick access to web sites of interest to North Carolina Genealogists, log on to the North Carolina Collection’s North Carolina Links page at http://www.ecu.edu/cs-lib/ncc/NClinks/Webgenealogy.cfm.

County Records Series

The County Records on microfilm include bonds, land, marriage and vital statistics, roads and bridges, schools, tax and fiscal, wills and as well as other records. These records are an invaluable resource for researchers and a complete list of the holdings in the North Carolina Collection can be accessed by clicking on the county name.

Maps

Unable to locate particular areas or landmarks associated with a particular county? Refer to the Stout Historical Research Maps - North Carolina Counties, Map Series in the North Carolina Collection, for further details. For the Civil War era, try the Confederate Engineers' Maps: Jeremy Francis Gilmer Collection  (NoCar Maps G3881.S5 svar G5 1989). The Stout Maps are extremely useful in locating place names like Post Offices that no longerexist or have been from time to time referred to by other names. Likewise, the Gilmer Collection gives reference to families living along established routes during Union occupation of eastern North Carolina. located in the NCC Closed Stacks. Ask at the NCC Service Desk for assistance. Of related interest are the Historical Map Reprints, 1585-1896. Refer the guide

Also very useful in locating individual properties in North Carolina towns and cities are the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (NoCar Microfilm Sa 516a) located in the microforms area of the North Carolina Collection. Those researchers who have a Pirate ID or who are working in the Joyner Libraray can also access these maps online via the Sanborn Maps North Carolina database accessible from the Joyner database page.