Statistical Profile, North Carolina Public Schools
NoCar Ref LA.340 S74 1975—
Report of the Superintendent of Public Instruction of North Carolina
NoCar L184.B16 1869—
A number of books with statistical information can be found in the online catalog by typing Education and North Carolina and [County or school system] into a subject search.
Websites and Databases
Public Schools of North Carolina: This is the Web site for both the state Department of Education and the Department of public Instruction. content includes education news and reports, including a seachable collection of North Carolina school "report cards".
North Carolina Public Schools Reports and Statistics: This section of the Public Schools of North Carolina's Web site contains links the bulk of the statistical information made available by the state focusing on public education. It includes reports and analysis of teachers, students, and schools.
Newsbank: North Carolina Newspapers: This is a keyword searchable database that indexes articles from several North Carolina newspapers from across the state.
LINC (Log Into North Carolina): This database, maintained by the North Carolina State Data Center, provides access to over 1200 data series from state and federal agencies. The site provides a vast amount of information including the complete 2000 Census, vital statistics, and statistics for agriculture, education, and business and industry. For those users unfamiliar with the database and overwhelmed by the vast amount of information provided, the site offers a number of tutorials to assist them. This site can generate customized reports on specific school systems.