LEED 6804: The Law, Policy, and Politics of Education (Ret.): Finding Statutes

United States Code

Compilation of federal statutes by subject into 50 "titles." Indexed by subject and popular name of act. Updated by U.S. Statutes at Large and slip laws.

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet    
 
Includes the Congressional Record and full text of legislation available from 1989 (101st Congress) to the present. In addition, THOMAS has summaries (not full text) of legislation back to 1975 (94th Congress). Also includes committee reports and schedules. 
 

United States Legislation    
 
From American Law Sources Online, this website offers several options for searching the U.S. Code, Public Laws, Statutes at Large and bills. It explains how to follow a bill through enactment and codification. The U.S. Code sites here are often out of date: be sure to use the update feature to see if a statute has been amended.

LexisNexis Congressional    
 
Provides indexing, abstracts, and some fulltext of publications from and about the U.S. Congress. It includes the fulltext of congressional bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, and the Congressional Record. It also includes the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations. Biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data are provided for current members of Congress. Some documents not available in fulltext on LexisNexis Congressional may be found in the Joyner Library Government Documents department. These documents are located using their SuDoc (Superintendent of Documents) number.

Public and Private Laws via GPO Access    
 
Contains the text of public and private laws enacted from the 104th Congress to the present. The database for the current session of Congress is updated when the publication of a slip law is authorized by the Office of the Federal Register.

NC General Statutes    
 
Compilation of NC statutes by subject. Web version can be browsed by chapter and section or searched by keyword.

(See search tips below)

U.S. Code:  Search by U.S. Code Citation, Popular Name, Public Law Number, Statutes @ Large Citation or keyword.

Examples: 
U.S. Code Citation: 20 USC 691
Popular Name: "Brady Bill"
Public Law Number: P.L. 91-230
Statutues at Large Citation: 100 Stat 794
Keyword: Galluadet

Thomas:  Search by keyword, bill number, Member of Congress, or congressional committee.

Examples: 
Keyword:  "Individuals with Disabilities Education Act"
Bill Number: S. 88
Member of Congress:  Sen. David Vitter
Congressional Committee: Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions

Lexis-Nexis Congressional:  Search by keyword; may also limit by date and type of document.

Public & Private Laws via GPO: Search by subject, Public Law Number, Statute at Large Citation Number, U.S. Code Citation or Bill Number.

Examples: 
Subject:  assistive technology
Public Law number:  P.L. 109-364
Statute at Large Citation:  118 Stat 1707
U.S. Code Citation:  29 USC 3001
Bill number:  108 H.R. 4278

N.C. General Statutues:  Search by keyword or browse by chapter.  Relevant chapters are Chapter 115 Elementary and Secondary Education (includes community colleges) and Chapter 116 Higher Education.