Resources for students and teachers
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2012
- ABA Constitution Day
Celebrate Constitution Day in the classroom and in your community with great resources and fun features from the ABA.
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
This excellent government web site for children features educational information on the Constitution and the Bill of Rights. Simply browse the alphabetical site map.
- Bill of Rights Institute: Constitution Day
Includes an online quiz, other interactive guides and relevant lesson plans.
- Center for Civic Education
The Center specializes in civic/citizenship education, law-related education, and international educational exchange programs for developing democracies. Programs focus on the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights; American political traditions and institutions at the federal, state, and local levels; constitutionalism; civic participation; and the rights and responsibilities of citizens.
- Charters of Freedom
A National Archives resource featuring scanned copies of the original Constitution, Bill of Rights, and Declaration of Independence, in addition to transcribed versions of each and historical background.
- Constitution Day 2010
Basic information on the Constitution and those who signed it, from Constitution Facts.com.
- Constitutional Rights Foundation: Constitution Day
Contains curricular materials and lesson plans.
- First Amendment Center website
"The First Amendment Center works to preserve and protect First Amendment freedoms through information and education. The center's Web site, is one of the most authoritative sources of news, information and commentary in the nation on First Amendment issues. It features daily updates on news about First Amendment-related developments, as well as information and detailed reports about U.S. Supreme court cases involving the First Amendment, and commentary, analysis
- James Madison and the Federal Constitutional Convention of 1787
James Madison and the Federal Constitutional Convention of 1787: (http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/madison_papers/mjmconst.html).
-Historical essay accompanied by several documents written by Madison during the convention. Part of the Library of Congress' James Madison Papers collection.
- Library of Congress: Constitution Day Resources
Contains the full text of the Constitution and other primary source documents, lesson plans, recommended books and links to relevant collections from the LOC's Making of America digital archive.
- National Archives: Teaching with Documents: Observing Constitution Day
Features a scanned copy of the original Constitution, as well as background information and lesson plans.
- National Constitution Center
An excellent source on the Constitution and its history, especially for students. Includes the full text of the Constitution, Bill of Rights, and related documents.
- National Endowment for the Humanities: Constitution Day
"NEH, led by the staff of our EDSITEment project and the We the People program, has assembled documents, background essays, and a bibliography to help you celebrate this day and deepen your understanding of the United States Constitution."